RSS Feed

Muffly Magnetic Retriever Used to Remove Metal Objects from Cows’ Stomachs

Elle Knowles:

This caught my attention this morning as I opened up my WordPress reader. This is an amazing blog if you are interested in the history of our country. Sheryl always adds interesting articles and information to her grandmothers diary entries from one hundred years ago to the day as she posts them on her blog. I have a story about this mind-boggling invention that she added to todays post. Watch for it in the next few days on my blog. Who would have thought? :) Thanks for all the great information Sheryl!

Originally posted on A Hundred Years Ago:

18-year-old Helena Muffly wrote exactly 100 years ago today: 

Thursday, December 4, 1913:  Ditto.

muffly_retriever.2The New Improved Muffly  Magnetic Retriever

Is now available through your favorite supplier or direct from

Dr. John W. Vandeven, D.V. M. , Bellesville, Pa. 17004

Her middle-aged granddaughter’s comments 100 years later:

The “ditto” refers to  a diary entry the previous day which said, “Nothing—That word I have good use for.”

One of the things that I really enjoy about blogging is how I occasionally get comments from wonderful people who knew my Grandma or other relatives. It is awesome to learn more about family members and what they were like.

I tingled with excitement when I read Pat Lukas’s recent comment, and  I’d like to thank Pat for sharing information that she had about Grandma’s little brother, Jim Muffly.  Jim did some amazing things.

Jim became a veterinarian with a practice in Lewisburg, Pennsylvania. …

View original 439 more words

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

2 responses »

  1. I can hardly wait to read the story. I can’t quite imagine how this unusual invention would fit into a story, and I’m in awe that something I posted on A Hundred Years Ago generated a story idea.

    Like

    Reply
    • Oh yes Sheryl. I thought about your post all day yesterday and re-blogged it last night. My sister and I have laughed about the cow episode. You will be surprised at the story but maybe not. I’m out of town but will get it posted next week. Keep up the good posts!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers

