RSS Feed

Promoting Through Social Media

Blogging is new to me, but how hard can it really be? I just finished writing my first book and now I am in the process of publishing it as POD (print on demand) through Createspace. The only drawback to that is I have to market and promote it myself! That shouldn’t be too hard, should it? After researching every possible way to market and promote, I have finally begun. The number one suggestion is to get it out to the public through social media. (Facebook, twitter, blogging)

As my family and friends know, I am not the best at social media. Yes, I have a Facebook page – after much harassing from my children and friends. They said, “You have to do it so you can see pictures of your grandchildren.” I really doubt they would have withheld pictures from me if I didn’t agree, so I continued to procrastinate.

My sister, Debbie, called me one morning about two years ago and said, “Get on your computer. We are going to set you up a Facebook page!” There was no talking her out of it. Twenty minutes later, I had a Facebook page – with no profile picture – and nothing in my head to post.

The page stayed empty for a while. I added my children and a few of their friends. My youngest daughter, Jessie, added a profile picture and some pictures in an album for me. I really didn’t have much interest but they kept pushing. A few friends found me so I confirmed them as friends. I would go for weeks without logging in unless someone called and said “Look on Facebook. I posted a picture – I just posted a video of you granddaughter.” That was interesting, but I could have gotten the same thing through a text!

The book I was writing was nearing the finish line and I told my friend, Vikki, I would probably have to make a Facebook page to promote it. She commented very negatively, “Who is going to look at it? You don’t even get on Facebook. You only look at what comes up on your phone and that is very limited. You have to interact with people to get them to acknowledge your stuff. You never like or comment on anything! When you start promoting your book, they are going to say, ‘Well, now she wants attention.’ You better get out there and interact some! How many friends do you have on Facebook anyway?”

The answer to that question was sad. I think it was ninety-three. That seemed like a lot of friends to me, but I guess not, compared to what others had. I knew she was right. I didn’t do much on Facebook except read friends’ posts and a couple of times I sent a Happy Birthday as a private message. Vikki was right. I had to be friendlier. It wasn’t that I didn’t want to have friends – I just wasn’t very comfortable putting everything out there for the world to see.

I slowly started acquiring more friends and added a few posts, and actually liked or commented on other posts instead of just reading and keeping it to myself.(Thanks to all my new friends on Facebook and all my old friends that I have found again, for putting up with me!) I even found out through Facebook that my high school reunion was coming up in the fall – I won’t say what year! I had forgotten all about it.

Being social through a social media wasn’t all that intimidating and soon I decided it was time to take the plunge and make a Facebook page for my pen name and my almost finished book. It wasn’t as hard as I thought and I only had to call Vikki for help three or four times! Thanks Vikki! I think I called Jessie a few times too.

I’ve been promoting my book on Facebook for about a month now and today I decided to start a blog! I know the website is a little bland right now, but please bear with me as I get accustomed to it because I really have no idea what I am doing and I don’t know another soul to call to help me! No one I am acquainted with blogs except…hmmm… my niece, Meggie. If you are reading this Meggie, I may be calling you soon. I’ve got you on speed dial!

Visit Crossing the Line Facebook page and “Like” and “Share” for your chance to win a signed copy of the book when it is published in a couple of weeks!

You can also read a preview of “Crossing the Line” and review it.

(‘Crossing The Line’ was published in March and the sequel ‘What Line’ is a work in progress.)

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

16 responses »

  1. Hi Elle,
    I was in the same position as you just over a month ago. And I’m not a fan of all that social media throws our way. Use but don’t abuse, I say. Hate to be harsh but our novels will not exist without readers. So I try now to think of blogging as an extension of my writing and then it gives me pleasure whereas if it becomes a chore or just a social media promotional activity, I’d be really crabby. It’s a brave new world we’re entering and I wish you well. It has to work for you, not Vikki or Meggie or anyone else. That’s the key. Good luck and congratulations on completing your novel! That’s a feat to celebrate!

    Like

    Reply
    • The more I interact with social media the more I enjoy it and the easier it gets. There has to be a limit set so as not to overwhelm everyone with an overabundance of posts. Hopefully I haven’t done that! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Great to read this honest, straight forward blog. It made me laugh because I just started a blog, too, and don’t know what the hell I’m doing. But even more; I don’t even know why I’m doing it! I just got an idea I wanted to blog about aging so I did it!
    Now I’ve found a whole new cyber-world!

    Like

    Reply
    • I started it for promoting my book ‘Crossing The Line’ and am glad publishing took me down this road. It is something I think I will always keep up with. Its kinda like an outlet to vent sometimes! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. Don’t be scared of the world of blogs. The water is warm and comfortable. Write about what you know and love. The world will love what you have to say.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Reblogged this on chrismcmullen and commented:
    If you have an existing Facebook account and you’re planning to start marketing through Facebook, the fifth paragraph of this article may illuminate a few important points.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Those are excellent points about the use of Facebook as a marketing tool. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  6. Congratulations on completing your book and on your blog! I am a friend of both Debbie and Tish and saw your link on FB.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Great job!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Good job! Wow a book, Facebook, and a blog, I’m getting scared lol

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

