RSS Feed

Writing, Editing, and Publishing – In That Order!

I wrote the book. It wasn’t too hard. The words seemed to flow easily – most of the time. Then, I had to edit! This took a while. I had two other people reading and editing. Thanks Sara and HL! I reread and edited and then reread and edited again while waiting for them to finish. Yes, I was getting impatient! I wanted to see this book in print, and soon!

In the meantime, I submitted a preview of ‘Crossing The Line’  so others could review it for me. I felt it couldn’t hurt to get some comments. Hopefully they will all be positive.  I also worked on my book cover while waiting for the manuscripts to be returned to me. (When you self-publish you also have to design your own book cover – but that is another story!)

Finally my edited manuscripts arrived at my door and I edited in MS Word again. It seemed as though every time I reread, I found passages I wanted to tweak a little.  They weren’t errors – I just knew it could be organized better. I can’t imagine how authors ever wrote a manuscript in longhand or even on a typewriter. It is so much easier on a computer to correct your mistakes. I guess that is one of the reasons there is such a flood of books out today – especially self-published ones.

I want mine to stand out though, and not for the errors! My daughter, Kerri, made a comment that has stuck with me. She said, “I don’t want to read your book and find a spelling or grammar mistake because that really bothers me when I read a book. I can’t believe someone would print their book like that.” So for you Kerri – I hope I can make it perfect or darn close!

The time came to hit the submit button and order my proof. After waiting about a week, the proof arrived. It was so exciting to see my writing bound in book form with the cover! However, I am rereading again because the publishing company suggested it. I sure am glad they did. You can see the typos and spacing errors easier in an actual book than you can on a computer screen or even on printed pages. Yes, I am still impatient and want it to be finished, but I want it to be right the first time it is published. I worked too hard on this to get sloppy now. Please be patient while  waiting for the final product.

If you read this article and see mistakes, I am sorry. I have read it over numerous times and edited, and I am sure my family will make me aware of any errors. (They were quick to do so on the first post and I thank them for it! I found a couple errors on their comments they left for me on this blog site, but I won’t mention any names! You know who you are. HaHa) If more are found, I will edit again and again, and repost. As Michael Burge  replied to a comment I made on his blog today, “It’s just so damned easy!” Hope I inserted that correctly. I’m still trying to learn how to work this program!

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

4 responses »

  1. I found a mistake hahaha.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Love it! I spelled my name right this time. Ha!

    Like

    Reply
  3. It will be worth it all in the end! I can’t wait to read it!

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

