RSS Feed

Music Rehearsals to Editing

Yesterday I was out of town all day at a district honor band concert with Harry. While switching between proofing my book and listening to the rehearsals, I realized that rehearsing music for a concert is a lot like editing. Those kids went over and over a piece of music until they got it right! The director was in a sense, editing.  Great job WHS Band kids!  Even though it was too far away for me to attend – Great job Maddy and Abby on your performances in your honor band concerts in Louisiana!

I usually go to all these functions with my husband to support him and his band students. It was a lot more exciting for me though when I could see my own children, Amie and Andrew perform at these events. However I will be off again next week to Troy University for SEUS with  some WHS Band kids. But this time I will be able to watch Andrew perform with the Troy University Symphony Band. Yay! Hopefully, one day soon I will get to hear Amie perform again. ( Maybe she will bring her trumpet to Louisiana in February.  🙂 What do you think Amie? )

I kind of got off the editing subject for a bit, but everyone needs to take a break sometimes. What I was trying to say was this -it takes a lot of editing to get it right. I am going through my proof copy of Crossing the Line page by page and there seems to be a lot of  red marks showing up. The next step will be correcting it on the computer.  I will just have to keep at it until I feel it is perfect.

Everything you do in life takes practice to get it perfect – relationships, our careers, attitudes, even doing the laundry and cutting the grass. You can’t give up. There is always room for improvement. It can only get better.

Perfect in my eyes may not be perfect to others. I try to take criticism on my book with a positive outlook and not as an insult to my writing. Sometimes it is hard but I keep on working at it and try to make it the best I can.

I have been saying for years that I wanted to write a book someday – Now I have! If I could just get this editing finished!

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

2 responses »

  1. But…If I don’t do the laundry then there is nothing to improve upon 🙂

    Maybe the girls and I will have a suprise for you….

    Like

    Reply
  2. I’m impressed! Keep it up!

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

