RSS Feed

To Multi-task 0r Not?

From all I’ve read about blogs, I should post something more than once a week to keep my readers interested. Sometimes that may not be possible. Thursday morning I will be leaving early to go to Troy University in Troy, AL for three days so I might not make my goal of posting every other day.

My son, Andrew has asked me to do his laundry while I am there. He also hinted it was a lot! Surely he has done a few loads since he went back to school at the end of December. I sent about nine or ten loads of clean laundry back with him, including three loads of towels. He claims he has been real busy and was up the night before until three am, doing music theory homework. He doesn’t seem to be able to multi-task. He has a washer and dryer in his apartment. It’s not like he would have to stop and go somewhere else to do it. It’s just a matter of changing it over from one machine to the other every thirty minutes or so.

I multi-task a lot – doing laundry, sewing, and writing in my mind, all at the same time. I wrote this blog in my mind this morning as I was working at my real job of sewing for Cascading Creations out of Niceville, FL. Of course, I get to work from home. Deb is an amazing employer and gives me most of her pillow work that she does for decorators around the Destin area. Sometimes I have  my best thoughts while sewing.

I will proof some pages in my book as we travel to Troy and proof some more as we sit in rehearsals. This will work because I won’t be missing anything important. I wouldn’t want to proof as I was driving or sitting in an important meeting. The driving would be dangerous and I would probably miss the point of the meeting or not do such a thorough job of proofing in either circumstance. Some things just go without saying. Use your common sense. Multi-tasking does save time, but if you don’t retain important information or you aren’t safe when doing it, then it was a waste of your time.

I try not to waste time and make every minute of my day count. I guess it is a matter of putting your priorities in perspective. Right now my main priority is getting my book proofed and submitted again as quickly as possible. After it is published, I can then concentrate on the sequel.

Andrew’s main priority is concentrating on his classes and making good grades again this semester – not on his laundry. I guess I should be thankful for that. I feel that one day he will learn how to multi-task.

What I will do for my children never ceases to amaze me. Going to bank in the morning to get a couple rolls of quarters! It will be quicker at a laundry mat than at his apartment and I can proof as I wait.

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

3 responses »

  1. So is talking on the phone to each other as we sew or clean house a productive multi task or wasted? Lol
    And I’m branching out also…I bought three more patterns just now and they are…BOYS, (isn’t that branching out?).

    Like

    Reply
    • I would put that in the productive category – especially since while I am doing that I am also getting exercise walking up and down the hallway changing out my phones when the batteries go dead. Gotta get another phone!

      Like

      Reply
  2. What a nice mom you are 🙂

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

