RSS Feed

Everything Has A Learning Curve

After all I said on my last post about writing something more than once a week, I have been guilty of not doing that! I’ve been away from here for too long! When I got back from my last trip, I had so much to do to catch back up at work and I had finished proofing my book so it was time to fix the errors in my template.  That took a while, especially when I got it all done and then tried to fix the simple problem of headers and footers on a few pages.  The header wasn’t too hard but those numbers on five pages that just did not want to format correctly were killing me! After about a week of my friend Veronica Hughes and I working on it over the phone – She has a very demanding real job:)-  I finally got the numbers in, but couldn’t get them to move down two spaces unless it threw off my headers or moved text down on the next page.  Uggh!

I knew no one else who knew much about footers. Finally I asked Sara Wilkins, who helped to edit my book, if she knew anything about them. She said she knew a little and could try. I wasn’t very optimistic but took her the file anyway. In less than ten minutes she had the problem fixed without it throwing the rest of the template off! Yay Sara!

I submitted my interior file and my cover that I had worked on again. The cover was rejected again because my picture was still under 200 dpi. I thought I had fixed that. Something that should have taken me thirty minutes to correct took me four and a half hours! Finally, finally,  accepted!  Proof ordered and now waiting for it to arrive in the mail. Maybe by the end of the week Crossing the Line will be published!

I hope I don’t turn anyone away from self publishing because of some of the nightmares I have gone through. I know it will be worth it in the long run. Everything has a learning curve and my next book will be a lot easier to publish. Yes, there will be a sequel! “What Line?” Already started and soon I will have a preview. I have learned not to give up and keep trying. Somewhere down the road it will all fall into place. It is also a great feeling to learn and accomplish new tasks!

After all that was done last week I had a few days to actually not have to work. My son, Andrew came in from Troy University on Saturday and we spent an enjoyable day together. First we went to the eye doctor so he could get contacts. That went pretty good. Then we went to Destin and ate lunch. The water was beautiful, but I think it was about 54 degrees and windy! Not a day for the beach. After lunch we went shopping for a few things he needed and he went by the Sperry store in the outlet mall to give them his spring break schedule so he could work. There are too many extras he wants so he has to work when he can!

Next week I will be in Louisiana for a while to visit the rest of my family. It’s been too long! Keep up with Crossing the Line Facebook Page and “Like” the page for your chance to win a free copy of the book!

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

