RSS Feed

Publishing Day is Here!

Finally, Finally, Finally! Crossing the Line is published! It was a lot of hard but rewarding work and I am so glad that it is finally out there. After receiving my second proof I found a few more mistakes but continued to carry on. It was a lot of trial and error with MS word and formatting headers and footers. Every time I thought I had a problem fixed, something else went wrong! Hopefully, I will retain everything I learned so I can apply it to my next book. Thanks Judy for all your help with those footers last night!

I submitted the interior and cover again last night and within 6 hours it was accepted and this morning about 7:47 am I hit the publish button. It was a little scary though. I kept second guessing myself wondering if I should order another proof and go through it again, or look at it more closely on the computer, or what! I do hope everyone will be kind when they read it and not be too critical of errors. I have edited  and tweaked so much. There should not be a misspelled word or any grammar errors. There probably will be though, but lets hope not many. It seemed as if every time I re-read, I found some mistake to fix. That could have gone on forever. Worst case scenario – they will be pointed out to me and I will correct them and resubmit in a 2nd edition.

Crossing the Line was available immediately on my estore and about 6 hours later it was on Amazon. From all I had researched it should not be available on Amazon for 5-7 days! I guess I got lucky. It will be out on Kindle in a few weeks. That will take some different formatting and I know that will take me a while even after all I have learned.

The next step is to promote, promote, promote! I ordered some extra copies so I can get out and do that next week. I’ll be doing a lot of researching on the best way to get that done while I wait on delivery.  Any suggestions on promoting and marketing are welcome!

I started early this morning posting it on facebook and sending out emails and texts to all my friends and family. I have been very blessed with all the positive feedback I received. Thank you, thank you, to all. So far this has been an experience and a road I am glad I took.

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

One response »

  1. Yay!,,,,,,

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

