RSS Feed

Lessons Learned!

Crossing the Line was published and all was good until I started to see errors and they were pointed out to me! I was horrified there were so many! Thank you Kerri, Jessie, Debbie and Judi for helping me to re-edit. I have learned my lesson – don’t get impatient with the publishing process and don’t do the final edit on your own book. I read that over and over and still did the final edit! What was I thinking?

It took me a little over a week to correct errors and finally re-submit. I also was trying to format for Kindle at the same time. That was a nightmare but I think only because I made it hard. After I figured it out, everything fell into place. Createspace has an awesome community forum and very talented authors who self-publish. They were so quick to answer all my questions no matter how ridiculous they sounded. You have to remember – I have never done this before! Thanks so much to all of you for all your help!

Crossing the Line is now published on Kindle but the actual book is still in review process because I re-submitted my interior file with corrections, but it should be available again in a few days. I am also planning on publishing with smashwords and Barnes and Noble for Nook and any other place I can get published on! This really takes a lot of effort and marketing to get my book out there to the public.

Lessons learned:

  • Never, ever do the final edit on your own book
  • Don’t get impatient
  • Don’t be afraid to ask questions
  • Market, Market, Market, Promote, Promote, Promote
  • Learn from your mistakes

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: One of Those Headlines You Can’t Ignore! How’s That for a Smashing Title? | knowleselle

  2. Well, I think you did quite well! After all, it is your first book. You have now crossed the line….you are an author!! Hooray! Mother would be so proud!!!

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

