RSS Feed

This Phone Line Is Busy!

I heard from an old friend today. Someone that had inspired me to write a few years ago. She did not know that because we have been out of touch, but it was so good to hear from her. She’s an author – a different genre, but if the writing is good, its good! Thanks again Debarah for stepping into my life when you did and for your inspiration.

I find the older I get the more important it is to stay in touch with friends. We go through life and at one point the past seems to slip by. The present is always more important – our personal lives, business lives, spouses, and children. The days go by and we get caught up in the world as it is – not as it once was. I was very guilty of this, but as I started to write Crossing The Line and researched how to promote and market, the main source of promoting that was mentioned was social media, i.e. facebook, blogs, twitter, and many more. So I started to expand my circle of friends and re-connect to the ones from the past. It has been fabulous! I feel as though I missed a lot in the past years by not keeping in touch. It’s great to see what is going on in the lives of those we grew up with. I hope they feel the same way about me. It has not been all about promoting but more of renewing old friendships and acquiring new ones.

When I was in high school there were no computers and no social media except the telephone and word of mouth. The phone line could stay busy for hours because there was no call waiting and no caller ID to see who had called – and these my friends were only landlines! No one had heard of a cell phone. If you were out and missed a call – you just missed a call. If you couldn’t get through to someone, you got in the car and drove over to their house – it was a small town. LOL! No one was connected at the hip with a cell phone. Time went by slowly then. We gathered  at the library to do homework together,  and we met at ball games, the movie theatre, or some random school event to socialize. We put thousands of miles on our parents cars (mostly our mothers) to just drive around and talk. Unlike today, not many of us had cars of our own – I sure didn’t and I had two older sisters I had to share car time with! I actually miss that. We also did a lot of walking back and forth to friends houses. That car was not always available!

We now rush to every event possible, stay in touch by cell phone, facebook, twitter. There is no wonderment anymore. Almost every father, mother, and child has their own vehicle to go where they please whenever they want – no waiting for your turn anymore. I know this has been said a thousand times before, but sometimes I wish I could get away for just a day with none of that. Would the world fall apart if my kids or spouse couldn’t get in touch with me for 24 hours? Probably not. Would they feel slighted if I couldn’t expose my thoughts to them or vise versa 24-7? Probably not. If I lost my cell phone there is probably only one person (Harry) that I could get in touch with because I  know his cell number. And I could get hold of my older sister in another state because she still has my parents same home number.  So that actually makes two. My kids numbers? No, I don’t know them. They are on speed dial and as far as I know there is no free public directory for cell phone numbers.

I also recently got in touch with another friend of mine who I went to high school with. It wasn’t easy. She is one of the few who isn’t on facebook and after months of trying I finally got in touch with her sister. I gave her my cell number, she gave it to Debbie, and about a week later my cell phone rang with a call from her! It was great to be able to talk to her and since then we have sent a few texts. I’ve wished her a Happy Birthday, she sent me a photo of her cat (always was and still is an animal lover), and hopefully next time I’m in Louisiana our paths will cross. I am sure there will be lots to catch up on.

I’m not saying to go back to the past and forget where you are today – just don’t forget your past and pass it on to your family. Believe it or not they are interested in how you became who you are today and the past was part of it.

When I sat down to write this today my topic was of an entirely different subject. I guess I will have to save Andrew’s spring break and my overflowing laundry for another post. 🙂

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

4 responses »

  1. And I was walking back and forth to Mary Vining Stephenson’s and Susan Atkinson Brown’s. Those were the good old days! Think about them often.

    Debbie

    Like

    Reply
  2. I wasn’t the one in the car….I was the one on the phone!!!!!

    Your sister, Debbie

    P.S. Maybe you should write a blog about all the unusual names in the family. I am the only one with a “normal” name

    Like

    Reply
  3. I know your number! 😦
    😉

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

