RSS Feed

Writing, Spring Break and Laundry (Dry Cleaned Fraternity Jersey and All) – It’s All Doable!

Things are finally back to normal at my house – Andrew is back at college, Harry at work, and me – well I am trying to make sense of all the chaos in my life – working at my paying job and trying to write the sequel to Crossing The Line at the same time, and catching up on the birthday gift buying I have to do for all my grandchildren. (That is another long subject!) It’s not easy, but doable. I learned a lot in writing and publishing the first book and this one seems to be going more smoothly. Hopefully I will have a preview of What Line out soon.

Going backward a week or so – Andrew shows up for spring break and even though I am glad to have him home for a few days, the laundry is something else. I guess I made the mistake of encouraging him to bring it (his laundry) all home for me to do when he came in. After all, he was going to be working at the Sperry store in Destin for the week and he did have schoolwork to keep up with. What would any good mother do?

Dumped on my living room floor when I walked in the door was all that dirty laundry! Piles of it! To be accurate there were seventeen towels, three hand towels, two wash cloths, two beach towels – one of which I had never seen before. He probably had to retrieve these from his car when he ran out of clean bath towels. Where did all these towels come from? They weren’t just the ones I had sent him off to Troy with almost two years ago. I hoped I wasn’t doing laundry for somebody else! Mixed up with all the towels were two sets of sheets and pillowcases, one quilt, the comforter from his bed, and two loads of all red clothing. Troy’s colors are silver, black, and cardinal, hence the red. Added to that were  two loads of dark, two loads of lights, and a load of whites. And these weren’t small loads either! He also brought a sport coat and a Phi Boota Roota fraternity jersey to have dry cleaned. I could justify the sport coat, but the jersey? His answer to that was he didn’t want it to shrink or fade. When I checked at the cleaners the cost would be six dollars and eighteen cents for the cleaning of the jersey. I guess I could indulge him this time!

That laundry consumed me and my living room for the entire weekend. It was everywhere, and to top it off, Andrew did not bring home any hangers – and I specifically sent him a text and told him to. I went to the store Monday morning and bought hangers, then hung up all the shirts and t-shirts and the many pairs of khaki pants he can’t seem to ever have enough of – we had to buy two more pairs last week. All the rest was folded and put back into various laundry baskets and ready for him to take back to school when he planned to leave on Thursday. I felt like that was a big accomplishment until he came in from work Tuesday afternoon and made two trips from his car, bringing in with him another pile of laundry from his trunk! It was like the energizer rabbit – it kept going and going and going! 🙂

The weather was still too cold for the beach and the one day it was warm enough Andrew had to work. It was good to have him home though and the three of us had some nice meals out at our favorite places catching up on what was going on in his life. One night we had dinner with him and a good friend of his from high school. I’m glad he feels it’s important to stay connected to those friends. (See the Phone Line is Busy! – posted last week).

I hope I don’t embarrasses him with all I write here – if he even reads it! – but I can see how much he has grown up in the past two years and it makes his dad and me proud to see him being the responsible person he has become and accomplishing the  goals he has set for himself. He even started reading Crossing The Line and took it back to school with him to finish. As I have mentioned before, he’s not a reader and he’s doing that because I asked him too.

Thursday we will be making the trip to Troy, Alabama to attend a performance of the Troy University Symphony Band. We will be taking Andrew his sport coat and his dry cleaned fraternity jersey!

Elle

Click on the title and scroll down to post your comment!

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

One response »

  1. Pingback: One of Those Headlines You Can’t Ignore! How’s That for a Smashing Title? | knowleselle

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

