RSS Feed

The Wonderful World of Google and Blogs!

I believe people get a little scared when they see the word blog and assume its another boring story about another boring subject. It doesn’t have to be. You can pick and choose from any subject you can think of. Some of the blogs I follow are quite interesting.

There are the cooking ones – Aunt Nubby’s Kitchen written by a friend of two of my sisters is especially great. She has wonderful recipes. I can’t look too often because I want to try them all and have just Harry and me to cook for right now. I think cooking for two is as hard as cooking for one. Its sometimes easier to go out and eat.

I follow a few author blogs. Recently I have been hung up on Catherine Ryan Howard – Catherine, Caffeinated. I find myself going back to read a lot of her earlier posts and have had to discipline myself to reading the current issue or I could be on her site all day! She has a lot of interesting articles on self-publishing for new authors.

My favorite past time when I am not writing is sewing. Actually that is my paying job right now as I have mentioned before. My son, Andrew once said I was the Queen of Sewing and he told his first grade teacher he could not do his homework in reading because I was sewing all the time! Now I never have figured out how that stopped him from reading and I sure hope I am not the reason he doesn’t like to read! There are so many sewing blogs on anything and everything you can think of. I don’t have any one favorite but have learned if you google any sewing question or specific article you want to sew you will always get an answer and most of the answers are given through sewing blogs. There are step by step directions and downloadable free patterns sometimes! You can get directions on how to thread your machine to how to repair your machine. There is nothing you can’t find out.

Most blogs are very informative, but some are a little wordy – is that a word? It is now and you know what I mean about wordy, but you always have the option to “cross off it” – as Andrew would say when he was younger – and go to another site that is more interesting. Just google something else.

I don’t think a day goes by when I don’t google something. Google is a great invention. That is what I will call it – an invention –  because the term was not around when I was in school. We didn’t even have computers. I have my friend Vikki Brown to thank for all my googling. She googles everything! I don’t even have a phone book anymore. All you have to do is google the name of the business and there is your number instantly! I googled for so much information as I was writing and publishing. I picked the sites that helped me the most and went back to them often. I did a little test the other day and googled  the name of my book Crossing the Line by Elle Knowles and Elle Knowles popped up! I was amazed! There was the title of my book with my name, Crossing the Line facebook page, my bio, my blog page, Elle Knowles on Amazon and on Barnes and Noble Nook. There were five or six different listings. I really don’t think I am that important, but hope my book gets to be, so it goes to show you what you can find out on google. Now go google  what you are interested in and find a great blog to follow. Heck, google your name and see what pops up. You may be just as surprised as I was.

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

