RSS Feed

It’s Fiction! – Nothing But Fiction!

Fiction – what is it anyway?   The first definition in the Encarta Dictionary for fiction is listed as: 

1. literary works of imagination  –  the novels and stories that describe imaginary people and events

I think that pretty much sums it up, don’t you? What in that definition do people not understand? No – the book is not about me. No – it is not about anyone I know. No – I do not live like that!  If I did,  I would soon be in prison because somebody or somebodies would be dead! hahaha

I do think, even though I am new at this, writers tend to write about what they know, but in fiction you have to have an imagination. You have to draw off  circumstances and situations, not necessarily your own. An idea for a book can be gotten anywhere – from a TV show, experiences from someone you know, another book you have read. Don’t forget about all the ideas that you receive from your friends about what you should write about in your next story. After many hours of research you can finally put down in words what you want to say. You go through the process of re-writing and the editing –  the proofing and the reproofing.  You have a few people read your manuscript and give their opinions, then you go through the whole process again being sure you don’t hurt anyone’s feelings or say something someone may think hits too close to home. Then you add this clause at the front of your book on the copywrite page:

This book is a work of fiction. Names, characters, places, dates, and events are either products of the author’s imagination or are used fictitiously. Any resemblance to actual dates, events, locales, or persons, living or dead, is entirely coincidental.

That should take care of that – but it doesn’t always, does it? Someone is always going to see themselves if they are looking too hard – maybe they should not speak too loudly if they think they are the villain! 🙂

If everything out there written was absolutely true then there would be no fiction – no fairy tales – no sci-fi – no imagination! Where would we be? That is why there are different genres and different categories to list your book in. List it in the correct category and everything should fall into place, but there is always someone out there questioning your efforts. All you can do is ignore the questions, and smiling continue on with your work.

Surely many authors get these questions and it is not just me. I’m new at this so I don’t really know, but I have never questioned fiction I have read or wondered about the authors meaning behind the story. When I read, I’m glad I have the opportunity to revel in a great book, as though I am intertwined in the storyline. That is what imagination is all about!

I am out there to write a good story and have my books read because they are entertaining – not to make anyone wonder – but if that sells books, let it be, I guess! I really enjoy this and get up every day with new ideas. I work to get my readers involved in the storyline and to keep them wanting more,  never knowing where the chapter of the day is actually going until I sit down to write and then it comes to me bit by bit, evolving into a story. I actually had someone tell me after Crossing The Line was published, he could have once been one of the characters I wrote about. I didn’t know that when I wrote the book, so yes – it is fiction and I’m sure there was a different take on the storyline. I didn’t get into that one! 🙂

Crossing The Line is a work of fiction and my first attempt at writing. What Line is the sequel to Crossing The Line. Both are fiction and there will be a third addition to the series too. Don’t ask questions – just enjoy the book! Thanks!

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

One response »

  1. That should take care of that! Can’t imagine how anyone could think these characters are about them… Oh well… let them think!

    Debbie

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

