RSS Feed

Everyone Likes To Be Needed

We had company this past week – the youngest daughter, Jessie, her husband, Davey, and their two children, Cadence, and Ethan. Strawberry picking and picnics were at the top of our list of fun things to do. Still a little chilly for the beach. Good news! There will be another grandchild in November. I did tell Jessie she was pressing her luck to have another child that will be as good and well-behaved as the first two. Let’s see what happens! They aren’t going to find out if it is a boy or a girl this time which is fine with me, but Aunt Debbie isn’t really happy. She sews beautiful smocked and heirloom clothing for all her great nieces and nephews and won’t be able to make that special outfit until the baby is born! By the way, this means I will have to change my About Profile. Thanks Jessie. That’s ok. I’ll just take off the zero and add a one!

Now it is time to get back into the working world. I finished some sewing work I had to deliver after they left. In a hurry to get out of the house, I left one of the pillows behind. Of course it was one that had to be delivered to a client this morning, so I had to leave my house by 7:15 am to get it to Deb in Niceville! The drive should have taken about twenty-five minutes but I had to go through two school zones on my way so it was more like a forty-five minute trip over and a twenty minute trip back.

Since I was out so early I decided to get that much-needed haircut out of the way. After that, I stopped at the bank, paid two bills and then made a quick trip to the grocery store. By 10:15 am I was done and back home. If I got up every day, dressed and got out of the house, I may get more done.

That hasn’t happened though. I find that when I am not on a schedule and don’t consistently sit down every day to sew for my paying job or write for my fun job, it is hard to get back into the swing of things. I don’t forget how my sewing machine works – I just have to get that rhythm going again and get the fabric flowing. As I am sewing my mind wanders to my writing, knowing I stopped in the middle of a chapter… like last Thursday. That was a week ago.

While I concentrate on sewing I try to remember at what point in the story I was when I was interrupted.  I know I was interrupted because Harry has a habit of saying, “When you get to a stopping point, let’s get something to eat – go to the movie – help me with whatever.” What he really means is, “Stop what you are doing because I need you and this is more important.” He just states it in a nicer way and who could turn that down? Everyone likes to be needed. 🙂

After three hours of wrestling with fabric, my thoughts of Crossing The Line’s sequel, What Line, got the better of me. I jotted down my sewing time and logged out so I could look at the last few chapters I had written.  I had gotten halfway through chapter eighteen. Now I need to go back one or two chapters and read to refresh my memory. Someone asked me the other day how I kept all my characters, dates, and times straight in the book. I keep a list and add to it all the time. It isn’t easy to go back and find exactly where you wrote something you need to know details about even though you can see it in your head. Now what chapter was that in – ten or eleven? After you have looked for twenty minutes you find your answer in chapter seven!

So after re-reading and deciding where to go with chapter eighteen I decided to write this post instead. Jim, Helena, and Lori will have to wait! I don’t think they will be able to solve their problems without me though! I haven’t posted anything in almost two weeks and have had plenty race through my mind about what I would like to write about, but it all seems to have vanished! I guess I need to keep better notes on that too, and I do sometimes, but it’s kinda like my grocery list – never around when I need it.

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

