RSS Feed

Baby Steps All The Way

Still striving for perfection? Well, you aren’t alone – so am I! I don’t think I will ever stop learning this writing/ publishing/ promoting process. Every day I learn something new or discover I did something not quite right! Then I have to either go back and redo or drop the process entirely and start over! I’m taking baby steps all the way through this.

Apparently, I need a Twitter account! Puh-leeeze! I think I know one person – maybe two that twitter, but not on a regular basis. Do they offer lessons for this? Are there rules written somewhere? If so, then point me in that direction quickly. I have just about figured out my Facebook page and this blog is going along smoothly – don’t you think? Now Twitter is thrown into the pile of stuff I need to learn to do.

About Facebook – I just found out I can get my own URL address for my Crossing The Line page! Something simple everyone can remember. That’s pretty neat! I haven’t done it yet, but soon. I’m trying to get all this done at the same time so everything coordinates and hoping it all re-directs when I do.

I am also thinking of changing the name of my blog. Be on the lookout for that! I need something a little more catchy – something that will draw attention, stand out, and make my readers remember me. Any suggestions? I already spiffed it up a bit by laying it out differently and making the appearance more appealing to  the eye.

This one is the killer- a book trailer! Now who would have thought to make a trailer for your book the same as you would make a trailer for a movie? It only has to be a short clip and doesn’t even have to have actors. I’m not experienced in this. There are so many questions going around in my head – where do I begin – how long should it be – what should I say…what should I sa…what should I…?  Hummm… Any thoughts on this one people?

No, I don’t have time to write on the sequel to Crossing The Line because I am spending my time promoting. And I’m not really promoting my book – that’s a no-no!  I learned that one last night. Actually what I am supposed to be promoting is MYSELF so that everyone will be sooooo interested in ME and what I am doing that they will want to read my books also! Does that sound right? It could work if you really think about it.

So, be on the look-out for, and not necessarily in this order:

1. ME on Twitter!

2. Re-naming of my blog site ( I will provide a redirect link for those of you already following)

3. Crossing The Line book trailer

4. An actual profile picture that will show up on all my promoting media. (still working on this!)

5. New Facebook URL

I’m pretty sure when I succeed in getting the above listed items accomplished there will be another list to start on. In the meantime, between my blog, Facebook, a book trailer, snagging a profile picture – and lets not forget Twitter – I will get this next book written and published…and the whole process will start over again!  Actually, if I succeed in my first attempt of promoting then it should all fall into place the next time. At least that is what I have been told by others that have already succeeded!

Hopefully, one day soon I will look back and wonder what all the fuss was about. It’s kinda like learning how to put contacts in for the first time – right Andrew? 🙂

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

2 responses »

  1. Love it! You sure are busy!! I would hate to know I had to get a Twitter account and have a blog. Tish

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

