RSS Feed

They All Have To Grow Up Whether We Are Prepared For It Or Not

Andrew was home from college a couple weeks ago – yes, he brought laundry…lots and lots of laundry, and I only had about seventeen hours to get it done. Most of those hours were in the middle of the night! I guess that is what mothers are for. I know I miss it when he’s not here for me to do for him, and I am overwhelmed with too much to do when he’s home, but wouldn’t have it any other way.

While the laundry was in its various stages of being sorted, washed, dried, folded, and packed, he asked me to help him type some lesson plans he had to turn in the next week. He handed half of them to me and took the other half.  I asked why he had to redo them if they had already been typed and graded. He said there were errors he had to fix and then turn them back in. You guessed it – he didn’t save his work on his computer! I hope next time he will do so! I may not be around next time!

As I was typing, I realized that he had actually done all that he had outlined on those lesson plans – research, costumes, props, etc. – and without me to help him and prod him along!  I actually felt a little left out and I find it hard to let go. He has a group of preschoolers he has to work with for this class and said that was definitely not the age group he would ever choose to teach – they have no attention span! I remember well when he was once in that same category.

When did he learn how to take care of himself and do his homework, get to class on time, make it to every rehearsal and performance on time, wake up without me repeatedly dragging him from the bed? (Really, I never had to drag him from the bed, but he couldn’t seem to figure out how to set an alarm when he was in high school!)  He even has a part-time job! Right now I am patting myself on the back. We must have done something right, somewhere, somehow along the way for him to become so responsible. I never worried about his sisters going out into the cold hard world and taking care of themselves and being responsible. They all seem to be okay. They were also more responsible while growing up. Maybe it is different with girls or maybe its because he’s the baby of the family.

Now he wants to go to summer school! I don’t know whether to be happy or sad. Happy 🙂 because he wants to take a few classes and get ahead of the game – sad 😦  because that means he won’t be home much for the summer before it starts all over again with more classes, marching band and concert performances!

Yep, the last one is just about grown up and out of the nest – if he would only take care of all that laundry! But then what would I have to do?

Elle

!!REMINDER………………….CONTEST…………………….REMINDER!!

Don’t forget to read in my archives ‘Where Oh Where Does The Storyline Go From Here? Comments Please!‘ and comment for your chance to win a signed copy of What Line, sequel to Crossing The Line. Beach weather is here and this is a great beach read! Details on the contest are on  ‘Contest, Contest, Contest! – Who Doesn’t Love A Contest?‘ Contest ends on May 10, 2013! Eleven days to go!

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Moving Forward | Finding Myself Through Writing

  2. You can come do my laundry if you ever want to feel needed! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

