RSS Feed

Life’s A Gamble – Sometimes You Win…Sometimes You Lose

Posted on

As a self-published author – and well past the age of 40 when I published my first book, Crossing The Line – I feel myself loosing ground with the pushing of me-me-me. I don’t like it, in fact I detest it. I am just not comfortable with having to put myself out there all the time, but with self-publishing there is no other way except to do it yourself and pray that eventually it will hit the right track and take off as a winner.

I actually read an article recently (I know, I do a lot of reading!) by Randy Susan Myers and I commented on this very thing. Self-published authors don’t have the luxury of having a publishing company or their own publicist behind them. The author – that’s me! – has taken on the incredible lengthy task of writing, editing, publishing, and the promoting of his own book. I know I did, and it hasn’t been an easy feat and I realize I’m not there yet. When will I be there?  Maybe next month – maybe next year – maybe with my next book, What Line – maybe never.

It’s kinda like the roll of the dice – sometimes you win, sometimes you lose. I’m not much of a gambler, but I did gamble with the publishing of my book. No, I don’t mean by spending a lot of money. Self-publishing is very, very, inexpensive. There was practically no money changing hands at all – just enough to buy a few copies of the book.  There was a lot of my time and energy spent though. Time and energy I could have put to use somewhere else, but then where would I be?

This writing was a passion I didn’t realize I had until recently. Sure, I always thought about writing, but never picked up the pen – or in this case, the laptop – to actually begin and finish. I had begun plenty of times, but never got past the first chapter. I never shared anything I wrote and never knew where to go from there. I have no idea why it finally hit me and I suddenly pushed myself to finish. Now its up to me, myself, and I to do the rest! I don’t want to let that passion die. I’ve worked to hard to quit now.

The rest being the promoting, getting the word out, writing the sequel, and starting the whole publishing part over again,because that’s what I promised my readers. I also promised myself that I would get this done and make it a success. The going is slow, but from what I have read it is not just slow for me. It takes time and patience and as long as I have my family and my friends – yes my followers and readers are also considered my friends! – I can do this. I can make it happen and along the way I hope I don’t make too many enemies by the constant pushing and shoving to get my name out there. Thanks so much to all of you who put up with it and  help me by sharing and liking and pushing my book, blog, Facebook page, etc. I even have a twitter account now -@knowleselle – and have no idea what to do with it, but that too shall be resolved someday! And really, thanks so much for just listening when I need to vent. I really do owe it all to you!

Elle

!!!!!!ENTER THE CONTEST TO WIN A SIGNED COPY OF What Line!!!!!!

Three copies will be given out! Yes, I said 3!

Please remember to add your comment under Where Oh Where Is This Storyline Going Now? – Comments Please! You must add a comment on this blog site to be eligible to win.

I want to thank everyone for their interest because since I posted that essay I have had many new followers and likes on my blog – just not many comments – except from family – which I appreciate very much, but you do know that family can’t win. Right? Sorry! 😦  Keep those comments coming though because its great to have family behind me!

I am also going to extend the deadline to May 24, 2013. That will give you two extra weeks to get your copy of Crossing The Line to read so you can form an opinion and make your comment. Yay!

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

2 responses »

  1. Good luck with your book. I wrote my first novel (around 150 pages) when I was 12. It was written in pencil with sub-par handwriting (for non-easy reading). Titled ‘The Art Stealers’, it was my attempt at an adult sounding novel with dialogue that could put the most enthusiastic Mom (like mine) to sleep.
    Thanks for stopping by and enjoying my posts. It gives me hope that my writing has improved. with age

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

