RSS Feed

Oh No! The Lists We Make And The Lists We Lose!

I make lists.

I reread lists.

I add to lists so I can cross off something I have done that wasn’t on it!

I forget to take my list with me.

I lose lists.

I find old lists and can’t remember why they were made.

Surely I’m not the only person in the world who does this. Sometimes when I come across an old list that was hastily made, I can’t even decipher it – hoping that one wasn’t important! It makes me feel productive to have a list and cross off items going on to the next. Sometimes I go in order – sometimes I don’t.

This summer is proving to be the summer of lists. With Harry home for a couple of months between the end of school and the beginning of his band camp and Andrew in and out – coming home for three-day weekends to work and then heading back to Troy for some summer classes on Monday – Thursday, my head is in a whirl trying to keep up.

I still have to work every day – still have to keep the finances in order and get bills paid on time, write on my book ‘What Line’, work at my paying job, and all the other unpaid things I do during the rest of the year. Life does not stop for me in the summer months. I wish it did.

Often  I think that just because I have the option to work from home people think I don’t do anything and can be at their beck and call. Can’t be happening if I intend to finish everything I have to do. I do try to slow down and spend more time doing the get-away-from-it-all things. Sleep later – hard to get up in the mornings when the alarm doesn’t have to be set for 5:30am for a couple of months! 🙂 We go out to eat lunch more often, see lots of movies, and spend time at the beach – for heavens sake, we live about 10 minutes from one of the most beautiful beaches in Florida! It’s just around the corner and we do not take advantage of it enough!

Sooo…I’ve made another list!

  1. 7:30am – 8:30am – run and feed the turtles!
  2. 9:00am -1:00pm – work at my paying job.
  3. 2:30pm – 5:00pm -write, book, blog, answer emails, promote ‘Crossing The Line’.
  4. 8:30pm – 10:30pm work at my paying job some more – 8 hours a day would be great when the work is there!
  5. 11:00pm- whenever my eyes close – read, write some more or loaf!

You notice there is some free time not accounted for. I do have to eat and play, and just relax some.  Life cannot be structured too much during the summer months! Too much going on and too much to see. I’m actually writing this at …hummm # 2 – work at my paying job! hahaha! Hopefully at the end of the summer my routine will be back to normal and ‘What Line’ will be back on track to be published soon! Enjoy your time with your family this summer. Everything else will fall into place.

This list? It’s a good thought and looks good on paper. Maybe I will lose it! 🙂

Elle

*Do you make lists and do they work for you?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

