RSS Feed

Is He Sick Or Has He Been Kidnapped?

 

Today I realized (not that I haven’t thought about it all week) it has been about seven days since I have heard from my son Andrew. He hasn’t called or answered my calls. He hasn’t texted or answered my texts. No, we aren’t estranged – he’s just busy ,busy, busy. I hope that’s what it is. I did see a picture of him posted on Facebook today by a friend, so I think he is alive. He could be sick though – he was when he left to go back to school a couple of weeks ago and that was after going to the doctor before he left (bronchitis). He still did not sound good the last time I heard his voice. I have visions of him weak in bed, no energy to plug in his cell phone and no medicine.  I doubt that though. Did he loose his cell phone? Surely not. He would have figured out a way to let me know so I could make sure he had another one promptly! Could that have been an old picture of him that was posted?

He could have been kidnapped! Probably not. I would have had a ransom letter or a call by now and how much is he worth anyway? Everyone knows parents of college-aged children have no extra money lying around! It would be cheaper to let them have him, but that wouldn’t be an option. I used to tell my kids that if they were ever kidnapped whoever took them would give them back real fast! 🙂

Band camp at Troy has been going on and I know he’s been busy, but how long does it really take to answer my texts? All I need is an “I’m ok” or something along those lines. Surely they get a break to eat and sleep. I’ve seen him pick up his cell phone at dinner and eat and text at the same time so I know it can be done. Maybe just not to Mom.

I’ve been cleaning his room this past week so he’s been on my mind a lot. There are so many memories from early years in this room. Most are probably more important to me than to him. Hopefully one day he will be glad I saved one of his first disposable diapers(unused of course!) and a pacifier. I really save way too much stuff.

I refuse to have a room in my house used for a store room and that is about what has happened to his room. Everything we can’t find a place for has a “place in Andrew’s room” tag on it. After all, he is away at school and doesn’t need the space. Poor thing – he had a path cleared to his bed from his door and about a two by two foot space to turn around in all summer! He kept his clothes somewhat neatly folded in his laundry basket. Really they were dug around in every day and then I would re-fold them so he could dig again the next day. Maybe he is ignoring my calls in protest to the storage in his room dilemma. 😦

I can remember when he was little and never wanted to leave home. He never spent the day playing with friends or even at his sisters homes who were a lot older. He would cling to me like a leech when I dropped him off at preschool. I felt so bad leaving him, but knew he had to get out and get social. He lived like a hermit and was happy at home in his own little world of make believe. That actually lasted for a good six weeks before he decided I wasn’t going to give in and let him stay home every day so he might as well make the best of it. Goodness! It was only three mornings a week and I really wasn’t going off and doing anything fun while he was away unless you want to call doing laundry and cleaning house without the help of a four year old “helping-by-making-messes” fun.

Now I can’t get him to stay home or even communicate with me. He’s a busy, busy guy!

Do you think he will read this and feel bad about not acknowledging my calls and texts? Nah. I doubt it. As soon as he figures out that he has to depend solely on us for spending money in his bank account for this semester he will call. I’m pretty sure of that!

troy2

Off to school as a Freshman !

532962_427103430715335_161148339_n

So, so, so busy!

Elle

Do your kids ignore your calls?

Click on post title and scroll down to comment!

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

4 responses »

  1. I’m sure he would call you if you had told him that if he didn’t answer your calls or texts within a reasonable amount of time you would have the police out looking for him! That’s what I have brought my two children up with. They are good about calling me back. One, not as much as the other, but I do hear from him too. He may buck up when he turns 30 in November! The other one BETTER call and check in! After all, she is single and living on her own! That’s one reason I have ulcers!!!
    Tell him that Aunt Debbie wouldn’t be as forgiving as his mother!!!

    Like

    Reply
    • The Troy police would probably laugh at me if I called them to say I hadn’t heard from my almost 21 year old college student son in a week. That would have worked in high school but then again I didn’t have this problem when he was in high school! I know he’s out there alive and busy so soon he will call and say “I’m sorry I haven’t called. I’ve been so busy.” Standard reply.

      Like

      Reply
  2. First of all, Elle, profuse thanks for your wonderful endorsement. I truly am humbled and appreciative.
    It sounds like your kids were much like mine while growing up, reminiscent of the child in O’Henry’s ‘Ransom of Red Chief’. The kidnappers ended up paying the parents to take him back.
    As young adults, their contact goes in spurts. Sometimes two or three calls a day from the same child, and then silence for over a week. And yes, messages don’t get returned because they are so busy. Until they need something.
    I especially like your description of your son as a youngster clinging to your leg like a leech. Very funny.

    Like

    Reply
    • I still can’t understand how he can miss my text. I have the same phone he does and I don’t ‘miss’ texts! Still no word. Should I tag him with this article on Facebook? LOL! Just a busy, busy, guy!

      Like

      Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

