RSS Feed

Found: Missing College Student – It Works For Me – I Must Be Doing Something Right!

Before I start on my post this morning I should let everyone concerned know that Andrew called! Yes, just out of the blue. Could it have been because he read my latest post, was tagged by his sister (Thanks Jessie) on Facebook announcing, “You better call your mother”, or realized suddenly, it had been a while? And guess what – “Don’t think I’ve been avoiding you.. I’ve been busy…I have a symphony band audition today and a jury tomorrow…how am I supposed to pay my band and percussion fees and pick up my parking tag…do I have money in my account?” Yes, that was the gist of the conversation. He only though he was busy – classes start today at Troy University! 🙂

It’s so nice to be needed again! Now here is my’ What Will Be Will Be Wednesday’ post:

It’s like getting an unexpected gift in the mail, finding money in last years winter coat pocket, returning home to find the meal cooked and waiting for you or just coming home and finding your kitchen still as clean as you left it. (That wasn’t very often when my kids were younger and all at home)!  When I get a reply back from a blog I have commented on or someone comments on my blog I am ecstatic! Should I be? Of course. I read a lot of blogs and comment on or like the ones that spark my interest.

The comments and sharing I get on my blog are exactly what I need when nothing else goes right in my day. It means that someone took the time to read my blog and hopefully enjoyed it. Thanks everyone! Its nice to make an impact. Of course not everyone is interested in what I write about. To be fair, I’m not always interested in what other bloggers write about either. So…I try to follow the more  important blogs.

WordPress makes it so easy to open up my account each morning and every blog I follow is in my reader with each new post for the day.  Gotta love that WordPress reader! I wish it was as easy to get the updates on the blogs I follow that are not in WordPress. Yes, there are other blog sites out there. These I follow by email and my mailbox gets overloaded and jammed up with blog articles. Add the important correspondence, spam and junk mail to the list and that makes for a very sad inbox!  By the time I get to the blogs they are sometimes old and I am tempted to just tidy up my cluttered mailbox by hitting delete. Oh sure, I can go directly to the webpage and read the latest post – I have to remember to do that though. Maybe there should be a universal ‘for blogs only reader’. Now that’s a thought. Maybe there is and I don’t know about it? 🙂 Please, please, please let me know if there is!

I read that by my commenting, sharing, liking, and even following a blog will increase the traffic to my blog post and I was a little leery. It works though! And I’m not following just to be followed. I have to enjoy what I am following. The traffic also increases by others commenting, sharing, liking and following my blog.

It does take time – lots of time – to keep up with the blogs I follow, promoting my blog, and even finding more interesting blogs to follow. WordPress makes it easier by having a list in my interest area in my reader. I could stay on the computer all day every day which would make the rest of my world neglected. Humm… If only I had nothing else to do.

When I started this blog I had read that it was one of the main ways to promote my self-published book ‘Crossing The Line“. It has helped some, but I may not be doing this in the right way. It’s all I know since I am relatively new to blogging. Now? I find I love the writing as an outlet and I also think it makes me a better writer. This gives me a way to vent and express my opinion. I can share special moments with others and share with my family and friends. It’s much more sophisticated and less out-there-in-your-face than Facebook is! Everyone should try blogging! Really you should!

WordPress does it right, but I still keep thinking there has to be a better way to keep up with other non-related blogs. Any ideas?

Elle

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

2 responses »

  1. Elle, I agree that the more we write the better we write. When I read my earlier posts I’m so tempted to go and make little and sometimes large changes, and I often yield to that temptation.
    The WordPress Reader is a great tool. Sorry I can’t help with your request for a universal reader.
    And keep on posting, we like reading you.

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

