RSS Feed

Who Let The Elves Out?

So… I begin Couch to 5K this week. I can already run that first mile, but decided to start at the beginning of the program. It’s nine weeks to 5K. Not that you are going to ever see me in a 5K race with fans cheering me on. (Yay! – Go-Go-Go!) I just want to prove to myself that I can – or can’t as the case may very well be. I-think-I-can…I-think-I-can…I-think-I-can…

It is easier to have a goal to work towards to be able to master what you want to do. I tried to set a goal this summer to write at least five chapters a week so I could get ‘What Line’ finished and published. That didn’t happened. It was too hard to focus with Harry and Andrew both home for the summer. Anyway, we had things to do, people to see, projects to complete.

Andrew is back at school, Harry back at work, and me? Well, I am always at work it seems. Work follows me around. You know how it is when you work from home – you have all the free time in the world! If they only knew. I haven’t seen any elves hard at work cleaning, cooking, paying bills, or shifting furniture from room to room trying to find a place for it all. Nope. Not even doing my paying job for me. Where are those elves anyway?

I think he's on break!

I think he’s on break!

Going back to work now on “What Line’ while my brain seems to be focused. Those pesky little elves don’t seem to write any better than they work! Hope to have it finished soon.

Elle

Click on post title and scroll down to add your comment!

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

6 responses »

  1. Well, be inspired. It would be Mother’s birthday today and she is the one who encouraged you to write, even though she was unaware of it. So get the run in, the writing done, and that sewing done…Cadence and Ethan NEED those pajamas! And, of course, Debbie needs those pillows! I will help you figure out where to put all that furniture AFTER I get Meggie moved. Don’t think I will have time for a trip to Florida, but we can Facetime!
    You can do it all!
    Debbie

    Like

    Reply
  2. Good luck with C25K! I am on Week 4 and I love it- although I could barely run for a minute when I started, so you are definitely in a better position since you can run a mile! I have taken a break from my writing, but I think it’s about time I set some goals and get back at it. Oh…and, I have no idea where those elves are….they certainly aren’t here…

    Like

    Reply
    • Good to know someone else is doing this and I’m not alone. It is so easy to procrastinate though – which is what I am doing right now. I give myself until 7:30 to get out there so I have 16 more minutes and intend to use every one of them! I took an unscheduled break from writing, but now I’m on a roll with it. Yay! …I think those elves are on strike…hummm?

      Like

      Reply
  3. Stick to it and you’ll be at 5k in no time!

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

