RSS Feed

Fly, Fly Away, But Stay In Touch

Fly, Fly Away,  But Stay In Touch

Fall is here and we’re on the road again! It was early Saturday morning and we were off  to meet Jessie, Davey, Cadence and Ethan in Troy for the first game of the season. They had secured a hotel room and we were playing recklessly by camping out in Andrew’s apartment for the night. It should be interesting I told myself.

After the game we had to run by the store to pick up a few things, i.e. milk, orange juice, chocolate milk, cereal, etc. Andrew went on to his apartment. When we opened that apartment door a frigid blast of cold air hit us. What did they have that temperature set on – 42 degrees? (And I know there is a way to type the degree sign but after 10 minutes of searching I came up with nothing!)

Andrew was asleep on the couch. He had graciously given up his bedroom for us. There was no other signs of life around. His roommates were either asleep or not here. So this is the college life? Hummm…not too bad. He had been up until 4:00am that morning for some fraternity stuff and had been in rehearsals most of the day and then the game so I’m sure he was tired.

We looked around and noticed everything seemed to be pretty tidy. I was impressed. Nice decor. His roommates were both percussion students as he was and it seemed as though they were using their dining area for a percussion studio. Why not if you don’t have a table and chairs! I woke Andrew up before going to bed and told him we had to get up in the morning to meet Jessie and Davey for breakfast about 10:00. They had to be on the road by noon. He wasn’t too thrilled with that.

“It’s my day off tomorrow.” he whined.

“Too bad. You may not see your sister for another year, so you don’t have a choice,” I told him. So…I’m thinking…maybe I need to go to college to get a day off. Is that an option?

I got up early the next morning and washed a sink full of glasses and cups and bagged up some trash. The dishwasher was full of clean dishes and I left that for them to put up. Maybe they were using that for an extra cabinet. That is all there was to do. When I offered later to take Andrew’s laundry home to wash and bring back to him when we came to the game next weekend he refused. “I’m good. I can get it done.”

Yep, I’m feeling a little blue. Sometimes they do grow up and become responsible adults without you noticing, which is a good thing, but then they don’t need you all that much anymore.  I’m sure I can find some laundry to do around this house somewhere!

Cadence and Ethan cheering for the Trojans!

Cadence and Ethan cheering for the Trojans! And yes, they will have a new brother or sister in November!

Andrew making friends with Cadence.

Andrew making friends with Cadence.

Ethan finally warming up!

Ethan finally warming up!

When I figure out how to get a video into this blog, I will show you the Troy Band – ‘The Sound of the South’ – what we really went to see! Until then you can view it here – Can you see Andrew? He’s the one playing the tap off! 🙂

Elle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

4 responses »

  1. Elle, when my four adult children whine that I’m treating them like children, I remind them that I’m their mother and it’s my job to remind them of this and that, check on this and that, and ‘help’ them with this and that. And I’ll keep doing it no matter how old they get.
    However, I confess I made them start doing their own laundry when they wereyoung teenagers. Too many clean clothes (still folded) left in their laundry basket and mixed with dirty ones. After months of warnings I gave laundry demonstrations and posted directions for washing and drying.

    Like

    Reply
    • I’ll have to remember that one. It’s great he is learning to be more responsible, but sad he doesn’t need me as much as I need him too. It’s his 3rd year of college and he’s the baby of the family – almost 21 – but still the baby!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Don’t be sad that he’s growing up. Be glad that you’ll have more “free” time! And you can always come do my laundry!

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

