RSS Feed

Lucky For You…..I Found It!

I’m much too tired to elaborate on my weekly Freebie Friday post of another chapter of ‘What Line this morning! Sooo…Enjoy what has already been written and excuse the mistakes please.  🙂

Heck, I don’t even know what chapter I last posted and where is my jump drive I store them on? It’s been a hectic week…………..Oh! Here it is and its chapter eight this week. Now…enjoy!

Elle

Chapter Eight

 

Jim awoke four hours later with his head pounding and the sunshine glaring through the open blinds. Jeffery was standing over him with a cup in his hand. “Here, Jim. Drink this coffee. You weren’t making too much sense last night. How in the world did your truck get towed? Where were you when that bar closed?”

Jim sat up slowly trying to focus on what Jeffery was saying. “I was on the beach thinking and I guess I fell asleep.”

“I’ll say you did! For most of the night. How much did you have to drink anyway?”

“More than I should have,” answered Jim. “I don’t know what I’m doing anymore. Helena won’t talk to me and Lori won’t leave me alone.”

“Well you brought this all on yourself. I told you to be careful. Why would you even jeopardize what you and Helena had for that? You know, I always envied you and your family life. You had everything – good looking wife who loved you and showed it, wonderful kids, and great job! Look at me. What I wouldn’t give to have been in your shoes. Now all you have is a mess.”

“Don’t remind me. I can’t talk about this right now. I need to get to work. What time is it?”

“It’s after nine. I already covered for you. I went in at seven-thirty and then left Pam and the intern handling things so I could get back to you. No,” Jeffery added as Jim started to protest. “I didn’t tell them where I was going – just said I had an errand to run. You need to get your mind right and get your life figured out before you come back to the office. I don’t want you to lose your job because of it. Lori will be coming back to work next week and you need to decide what to do about that if you intend to try to work this all out with Helena, otherwise that won’t really make any difference will it?

“Of course I intend to try to work this out with Helena. What makes you think I wouldn’t?”

“I don’t know Jim. Maybe it’s because I don’t see you getting Lori out of your life. She called me last night and sent me a couple of texts trying to get in touch you. She’s a little persistent isn’t she?”

“I’ll say! I can’t even be nice without her reading something into it. I don’t know what I am going to do about her. I don’t want to be rude, but…”

But? But nothing! Be rude, be mean, be something! Just get rid of her!” Jeffery turned around and headed toward the door. I have to get back to work. I told Pam you wouldn’t be in again today, but she’s expecting you to be there tomorrow. Get up and get started putting your life back together man!”

After Jeffery left and Jim drank his coffee and poured another cup, he called the towing company about his car. It was going to cost him $150.00 to get it out of hock if he could be there by noon. Then he searched the internet for a marriage counselor and made an appointment for later in the week for him and Helena. He also called his lawyer, hoping Helena had not already called him. He left a message for him to return the call.

Helena didn’t answer the house phone or her cell phone when he tried to get hold of her. Remembering he had not talked to Carrie since early yesterday, he called her number.

“Hey Dad, Carrie answered. Mon’s here now but I’m glad you called. We want both of you to come this weekend for dinner. Rich is going to grill some steaks and Lizzie misses you. I think by the weekend I will be ready to get back to the land of the living!”

“Are you sure you will be up to it?” Jim questioned her.

“Sure I will. Mom will help out I’m sure and you can entertain Lizzie.”

“Ok, we’ll see what we can do. Can I talk to your mom a minute? I couldn’t get her earlier.”

“Sure. She’s upstairs with Chip. Hold on a minute.”

He heard Carrie lay the phone down and waited a few minutes before Helena answered. “We need to talk. When is a good time for me to come over?”

“Let me call you back when I leave here. I’ll be about fifteen more minutes. I have to get out to the beach house so I’ll call you on the way,” Helena said hurriedly.

“Alright. I’ll be waiting to hear from you. This is important, so don’t forget.” Jim closed his cell phone and rummaged around in Jeffery’s medicine cabinet for something for his headache. The hot shower hadn’t helped at all. He knew it was from all that drinking he had done last night and probably nothing would help. He sat in front of the TV waiting for Helena’s call, hoping she would not disregard his request.

When his cell rang about twenty minutes later he had just dozed off. He answered quickly, not looking at the caller ID. “I was afraid you weren’t going to call back.”

“Not call back? That’s all I have been doing for two days! Where have you been? I have been trying to get you since early yesterday and Jeffery said you took a few days off work when I asked him.”

It was Lori! He wasn’t prepared to talk to her yet. “Yes, Lori, he answered. I’ve taken a few days off. I’m sorry I didn’t get back to you yesterday. Are you feeling ok?”

“From the surgery, yes – from missing you, no. What is going on? I need to see you and soon. Is Helena still causing problems?”

“We probably need to talk. I’m at Jeffery’s right now.” Acting on an impulse he added, “Can you come by and pick me up? I need a ride to pick my truck up.”

“If you remember correctly, I don’t have anything to drive right now. You took the truck back. I’ll see if Elise will let me use her car.”

Jim’s phone was beeping with an incoming call. Knowing it was probably from Helena he hastily told Lori he had to take another call and he would get back to her.

When he answered Helena’s call she said, “What took you so long to answer? I was about to hang up.”

“Sorry, I was busy. I need to talk to you. When is a good time this afternoon? I can get over there right after lunch – about one-thirty.”

“No, Jim. Not at the house. I think we need to talk on unfamiliar territory and in public where neither one of us will be tempted to make a scene. Meet me at the park. I’ll be on one of the benches across the street from the sandwich shop. Make it four o’clock. I have work I am trying to get done this morning and I have a new client to meet at one.”

Meekly Jim replied, “Okay, if that’s what you want. We really need to work some things out. I’ve missed you,” he added.

“Don’t say anything you don’t really mean, Jim. I’ve got to go. Bye.” Then she hung up abruptly.

This isn’t going to be easy Jim thought. His phone buzzed with a text. Lori! “on my way…see you in a few…lumuJ.”

“What had he gotten himself into? He should have never asked her to pick him up! He went inside to get his wallet and then locked the house up waiting on the front lawn for Lori to arrive. It didn’t take her long and he walked over to the car and got in before she could get out to greet him.

That didn’t stop her though. She was all over him in a second. “Oh Baby, I’ve been so lonely without you. I know you didn’t mean all that the other day when you tried to break it off. You’ve just had so much on your mind lately with Carrie’s baby and Helena on your back bitching, not to mention my surgery. I should have waited to do this until a better time.”

Clenching his teeth, he removed her arms from around his neck gently and said, “Lori, we are in public. Someone may see us.” He then told her about having his truck towed and needing a ride to pick it up. He gave her the address of the towing company and they headed that way with Lori questioning him about why he was on the beach most of the night, and where was Helena when all this was going on, and why was he at Jeffery’s? So many questions, he thought. Can’t she just be quiet for a while?

He explained as best he could not really wanting to let her know that he and Helena had separated, but was unable to avoid that.

“Wow!” Lori said. “It’s about time! Now we can get on with our lives. I’m sorry about the mess you will have to go through with your kids, but I am so happy for us now.”

By now they were at the towing place and he opened the door to get out as she asked him to come by the house when he finished so they could celebrate!

“No,” Jim said. “Let’s go get some lunch. I will meet you at the restaurant at the golf course.” He knew that would be more private and less of a chance for Helena to see them together. She never came to the golf course. He and Lori ate there a lot together while playing golf so no one would suspect anything. She was nothing more than a golfing partner. He didn’t trust himself to be alone at her house with her.

Lori agreed and said she would be there waiting on him.

After paying a fortune to get his truck back, Jim headed toward the golf course checking his watch. It was twelve-twenty. Surely he could fix this mixed communication with Lori before he had to meet Helena at four.

 

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

