RSS Feed

Late Night Calls – Are They Ever Good News?

Brring…brrring…brrring! That’s my cell phone ringing at 11:32 pm with a call from Andrew. Now I don’t know about you, but when my phone rings late it usually means bad news – someone ill, an accident, in jail (no that hasn’t happened yet 🙂 ), etc. Never is it good news, especially when you have five children spread out over three states. Have you ever noticed they don’t call you to relate any good news at that hour of the night? – Hey, guess what! I aced that theory test today!…You’re going to be a grandmother – again!…We just won the lottery!… No, none of those kind of calls come at this late hour.

Startled out of a deep sleep I grabbed my phone trying to remember how to connect to the call. My brain was not functioning at 100% capacity at the moment. I could see on the caller ID that it was Andrew and was alarmed because I thought it was much later than it was.

Me – “Hello?”

Andrew – “Hello-hello?”

Me – “Andrew? What time is it? Why are you calling so late?” (You see, I can’t get responses from him during the day by way of phone calls or texts. He’s such a busy, busy, guy!)

Andrew – “Mom, I really think you should make me a Doctor’s appointment.”

Me – “For what, Andrew? What’s the matter?”

Andrew – “I’m still sick and I’ve been talking to people and they think it may be bacterial. I’ve had this for too long. It’s not as bad, but I still have it. Maybe I need a stronger antibiotic.”

Me – What “people” has he been talking to and what does he know about antibiotics? “You really need to go to the infirmary on campus like I told you to last week. Have you done that yet?

Andrew – “Can they do anything? Can they give me a prescription?”

Harry, while getting out of bed – (Yes, he’s awake now. Who could sleep through this conversation anyway?)  “Tell him to go to the emergency room if its that bad.”

Andrew – Hearing what his dad said, responds, “What! No! I’m not going to the emergency room.”

Me – If you still feel that bad you need to go to the nurse on campus tomorrow. I don’t know what your schedule is , but go early and yes, they can give you something.”

Andrew – “Okay, I can go about three. I have classes in the morning.”

Me – Three? It must not be too bad then.  “Call me tomorrow and let me know something.”

Andrew – “I will.” Click (sound of phone disconnecting)

He had bronchitis about a month ago and I know he must still feel bad, but it’s only allergies. He’s the type that wants immediate relief through any medication. I keep telling him if he would take his daily allergy medication as directed he would be in much better shape right now, but that is like beating a dead horse. Throughout that whole conversation I was thinking, “I don’t have time for this. I have too much work to do tomorrow.”

Let’s see what today brings. Will I be informed of the outcome of the infirmary visit or will he even go?

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

