RSS Feed

What Was That? It Was Time Whizzing By!

What Was That? It Was Time Whizzing By!

I was just thinking the other day – yeah I think sometimes – about how time really does fly by. The older I get the faster the time goes.

I remember when I was young – really young – and I was at the laundry with my mother. She was using one of those really old machines that you had to run your clothes through a wringer and just hope and pray the buttons didn’t pop off. Thank goodness for technology!

Anyway, back to the point of this conversation. I had an alarm clock in my hand and we must have had plans to go somewhere or do something exciting because as I held it I would hit that clock with my hand on its side to see if I could make the hands move faster. I knew which side to hit it on to make the hands turn in the direction I wanted them to go, but I wasn’t smart enough to turn the clock over and turn the hands to the time I wanted. That would have been the easy way to speed up time. I don’t remember the outcome of that day or why I wanted the time to move faster.

Time does fly!

TICK TOCK – TICK TOCK

When I look back at those days when I was young it seems as though it took forever for a day to be over or for the week to end. I would spend hours reading and still have time to do homework, be with friends, and quarrel with by brother and sisters.

Now, at the age I am, time just whizzes by. There isn’t enough time to finish all the projects I have on my list and boy do I have some projects. Instead of crossing them off, I keep adding more to the list. It’s a hobby of mine. Maybe I am afraid that if the list is empty I won’t have anything to do. Now how nice would that be! 🙂

I get up in the mornings early and my mind is reeling with the thought of that list. I start one project and get sidetracked with another project. Sometimes I get in front of my computer – like now – and before I know it, the time for me to run has come and gone. I keep telling myself – fifteen more minutes and I’m going to get my running shoes on. Twenty-five minutes later I give myself five more minutes.

My five minutes have been up and I’ve really got to go run or I might decide its too late and stay home……………

Whew! I’m back and I did a lot of thinking on that run. Maybe time goes by so fast because we try to do too much. I know I am always multi-tasking and hurrying here or rushing there. I feel guilty if I’m not always busy with one project or another. I don’t – to coin a phrase – “STOP AND SMELL THE ROSES.” The world probably won’t fall apart if I did.

Elle

Is there something you can remove from your list today?

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

2 responses »

  1. I think you’re right, Elle. We’re too rushed. I remember how fast the time flew at work when I was busy or on deadline. The few times the computers went down and little work could be done, the time dragged by.

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

