RSS Feed

OOPS! There Went The Pig Stand!

CRASH!- OUCH! – WHAM! – SPLAT! Yep! That was me you heard. Friday my day started out great. I did my 2.61 miles with couch to 5k for week 7, day 2. Yes, I am a day short for the week but I plan to catch up this afternoon I was thinking. Two runs in one day wouldn’t be too bad. I can do this!

Then…..CRASH! – OUCH! Me again. I sliced my toe open on the glass from a picture frame. It hurt, but not too bad. Not realizing I had cut myself I continued around the corner to brush my teeth. I happened to glance down in the middle of that chore and I was standing in a pool of blood! Oh no! After I got the cut cleaned up it didn’t seem as bad as you would think from all that blood. I applied some Neosporin ointment and a band-aid and off I went to get my haircut.

Rule-of-thumb # 1 – There is no way that two households of furniture will fit into one house when said house is half as big as the one you moved from! Just saying…there will be too much STUFF! We have to get rid of some of this furniture!

The parking lot was full where I get my hair cut so I had to park pretty far down in the lot. When I was walking back to my car and digging in my purse at the same time for my keys – you guessed it…WHAM! There I was on the ground. I had tripped over one of those tire stops or whatever you call them placed in parking lots to mark the parking spaces. Never even saw it. 😦  Am I getting old and feeble or what?

I picked myself up off the ground with as much poise as I could muster, looking around to see if anyone had seen me. There was a woman a few cars over loading her trunk with packages and she said, “Honey, are you ok?” I managed a smile and replied with a laugh, “Just my pride bruised a little.” She kept loading her packages and without another word I limped away toward my car grateful that I didn’t know her and would probably never see her again. Horrors! Why is it we never want people to see us do stupid stuff even if it can’t be helped?

I can run that 2.61 miles every other day with no trouble – but put me in a wide open parking lot and watch out. I’m going to trip over a leaf or something bigger!

Rule-of-thumb # 2 – Get your keys out of your purse before you walk across a parking lot! And when you do fall make sure there is no one around to see – fat chance!

SPLAT! Pig Stand Bar-B-Q sauce and glass everywhere and it had to be my hard-to-come-by brand. The brand we both like and  can’t get anywhere except in Louisiana or online.  I swear it just fell out of the fridge all by itself while I was putting away the groceries! Be careful. There is glass everywhere and one sliced toe in a day is one too many.

Rule-of-thumb # 3 – Always make sure you have an extra jar of important hard-to-come-by stuff like Pig Stand Bar-B-Q sauce. I did – YAY!

DON'T DROP THIS!

DON’T DROP THIS!

 

So…..I didn’t get that second run in for the day as planned – sore toe – bruised pride – Bar-B-Q sauce everywhere!

Can your bad days top mine?

Elle

READ TUESDAY – ITS GOING TO BE HUGH! Give the gift of books this holiday season.

 

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

