RSS Feed

Oh – My – Goodness! Has It Already Been That Many Years?

Oh – My – Goodness! Has It Already Been That Many Years?

New School Year…Fall… Football… Marching Bands… High School Reunions.  Yep, you guessed it!  Time for my high school reunion and I’m not going to tell you which one since you are so good at guessing. Let’s just say it is one of the ones where we used to laugh at the “old” people on the float! Can you believe its that time for us already?

I’ve been thinking about this reunion all year and have gotten in touch with a few almost forgotten friends, rehashed some old memories, and had the best conversation with Sherry Jack on Facebook one day. I’m jealous. She’s living in Alaska which is near and dear to my heart. A little mushy but true!

Really, I planned on going. Plans changed though and I’m not going to be able to make it. 🙂 I know I have two of the oldest children and may have one of the youngest so I am still raising one and he’s a busy, busy, guy! Keeps us on our toes and my car automatically heads to Troy when I start it! And I can’t forget those grandchildren – Ten of them and one on the way – maybe even before the reunion. Guess I’ll be making some changes on that ‘ABOUT’ page soon.

I’ve got my memories though. Those were the days! Some of the things we did and got away with, I would not want my children to know about. It did give me knowledge as to what they tried to pull over on us while growing up though. Did they actually think I was never young?

Let’s jog our memories a little:

  • I remember that I did not set foot in the cafeteria the whole three years I was in high school when we then had an option of whether we wanted to eat or not. I think I lived on Cokes and Mallo Cups! Still buy those Mallo Cups when I can find them. 🙂
  • Off campus lunches too. Johnson’s Café where I have eaten the best hamburger of my life thanks to Tobi and Toni Johnson’s parents! I know you remember those hamburgers. We only had about 40 minutes and had it timed to get there, eat, and get back to school in time for class – on foot!
  • I remember in the eighth grade standing under the catwalk during the lunch recess with –  and he may or may not remember this – Jimmy Pender and rolling a tiny ball of mercury around in the palm of our hands! Isn’t that dangerous? And where did we get that ball of mercury anyway? Maybe that is what has affected my brain and I can’t remember what I enter a room for these days. Or is that loss of memory from walking through too many doorways? haha
  • I remember the away Friday night football games and the football team, band, boosters, and cheerleaders all took chartered buses to these games. It just went without saying and I sold plenty of tags to be able to make the money to pay for them. If you don’t sell them, you buy them! Fat chance of getting away with that rule in the schools today!
  • I remember 5th Quarter after the homes games at the First Baptist Church.
  • Remember having to get your hems measured if your skirt looked to short? I think we were a whiz at rolling those skirts and yanking them back down when passing a teacher! 🙂
  • The wooden phone booth across from the office! There was an article in the paper this week that stated there are only about 20 pay phones left in Okaloosa County (where I live now) and the majority of them don’t even work. A cell phone was not even part of our vocabulary.
  • And our hair! Remember ironing it with an iron? The straighter the better. I wasn’t one of the ones blessed with straight hair like Missy McLain. I would have given anything for hair like hers back then. I know I am dating myself here, but the rest of you are just as old as I am so don’t be so smug. I didn’t have a hand held blow dryer until probably 1974. When did you get yours?
  • I remember filching as much money as we could find – Debbie Williams –  around the house and under cushions, then filling the car that we happened to have access to at the moment with gas and having enough left over to eat. How much did gas cost back then anyway? I just looked it up and the article said 65 cents a gallon. Surely not!  Could that be a typo on the internet? hahaha!
  • This is just a memory that always comes back to me but may not mean a thing to any of you. My mother used to always sign my notes for school – Helen Knowles RN – It was hilarious! I was probably the only kid at school that drove around with catheters in the back seat of the car left over from one of my mothers  many patient visits!
  • And talking about cars – we didn’t all have our own car like most kids today do. I had to share my mothers car when she didn’t need it with my two older sisters and since I was the youngest, my turn didn’t come around too often. I really think I got short changed.
  • Slumber parties at Karen McGee’s – It seemed like you lived at the end of the world! – Listening to Marvin Gaye – I Heard It Through The Grapevine, over and over and over and over. Why does that stick in my head? Oh yeah, and you had that party line. That was so neat! (Now we can say that.)
  • Sarah Gordon – Do you remember crawling through the wood box door by the fireplace inside to your house? That was Jr. High years in that house in town.
  • Wanda Toups – Your mom used to always take a group of us crabbing in Cameron for your birthday and then cook those crabs for us when we returned home! Can’t buy that kinda cooking can you?  (I must say this beach in Florida surpasses what we thought was great then! 🙂
  • And I always remember Eddy Strother being there as a good friend – someone to talk to, someone who listened. (And he’s a reader. Yay!)
Great Memories! OHS

Great Memories! OHS

Did anyone notice I didn’t put anything too risqué in these remembrances? After all we should still have some secrets from our children!

I wish I could name everyone but then who would have the time to read this?  You know who you are. I do have great memories of those Jr. High and  High School days though. Those memories are burned into my mind. I am probably one of the earliest married and moved away classmates and I am very thankful that I have been included in this reunion planning because I married in my senior year and move to another town – another state – and graduated from another school. Do I have regrets? Nope. It’s what made me what I am today.

Have a great reunion guys and stay in touch. I’ll be thinking of you all  on the 1st of November and wishing I was there!

Elle (Lindy)

READ TUESDAY – It’s going to be huge!

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

