RSS Feed

So…It’s Supposed To Be All About What You Want From What I Have Heard. Hummm?

So…It’s Supposed To Be All About What You Want From What I Have Heard. Hummm?

Promoting through Social media. Hummm? Self-publishing, Editing, formatting. Hummm?  ‘Crossing The Line’ and’ What Line’. Hummm? Memories. Hummm? Everyday in my life. Hummm?

What’s this all about you say? From what I keep hearing is that I have to find my targeted audience. That’s you in case you were unaware. You…the reader. You…the follower. You…the people who look forward to absorbing my written word into your system with your morning coffee, afternoon snack, or as a bedtime read. It doesn’t matter when you read it – just read it! 🙂

Of course I want to make my audience happy and coming back for more. I want you to enjoy what you read here and be eager to share it with your friends on your social media sites making my stats go up…up…up. Making my book sales rise doesn’t hurt either. 😉 All that SHARING and LIKING you do on my blog and on  my Crossing The Line Facebook page helps my stats rise even higher and puts a smile on my face. Thanks for all you do! (my audience)

Anyone who says they don’t care about the stats has a different view than I do. Yes, I care about the stats. A rise in stats and comments and likes and followers makes me one happy person. 🙂 It raises my self-esteem, pushing me forward to be a better writer so that I won’t be a disappointment to you when you open up your email or your WordPress reader to a new post with my name on it.

Yes, I started this whole blogging experience with no thought in mind except to promote my book. That’s what I read I was supposed to do. I was scared to death, not knowing what in the world to write about and so I started with social media and promoting and the time consuming and frustrating efforts of editing, formatting, and self-publishing. You could fill a thimble with what I know about all that, but  I did it and got ‘Crossing The Line’ published with a few more gray hairs accounted for.  I hope when I get ‘What Line’ finished and ready to publish I can even remember the whole process. (Now where are my notes I made? Will I even be able to decipher my handwriting and understand those notes? Hopefully most of that process will come back to me!)

Then I got caught up in the blogging world. It was fun –  it was exhilarating – it was exciting to be able to write my thoughts and promote my book at the same time.

So what do I write about to capture my targeted audience? Just exactly what it says on my ‘About‘ page. My blog will be one year old in February and maybe by then I will have figured out what makes this blog tick. For now, I will stumble along, pick myself back up after a fall (a poor post), and move in the direction of success. Any and all advice from my readers is very welcome, (just comment below!) so don’t hesitate to let me know if I am going in the right direction or have taken a wrong turn. That way you will get what you want! 🙂

Elle

Read Tuesday: It’s going to be HUGE!

Give the gift of reading this holiday season.

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

9 responses »

  1. Thanks. Wow. I’m impressed that you’ve published two books and are working on the third.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. I’m enjoying your blog. I do have a question. This says you’ve been doing it for a year. Perhaps you’ve written on this topic but I’m curious. You have a good number of followers. Could you tell me what you think has made your readership grow so much in such a short amount of time? Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Actually this post was written in 2013. So it’s been about 4 years now that I’ve been blogging. Lately I’ve been slack. After publishing my 2nd book, my life has been consumed with marketing, promoting, and starting on a third book. Be consistent with your posting and write good content. (I must get back on track with this) Follow other bloggers, and comment often. Blogging takes time and a successful blog takes more time, but it’s well worth the effort! ~Elle

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. I enjoy your posts and comments. What I appreciate most is that you write with honesty…
    showing a willingness to share, a willingness to express vulnerability. In my opinion, authenticity goes a long way in connecting with your audience.

    Like

    Reply
    • I don’t think consistency is always that important in what you post. The quality of what you post is more important…and if something’s not to your interest…skip over it…who will be the wiser? LOL! I’m glad you enjoy them!

      Like

      Reply
  4. With all this blogging, I have one question…how do we ever get on with that second novel we have brewing in our minds? ! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  5. I love my stats as well. It is exciting seeing the numbers rise. good luck with your book sales 🙂 and your FB page.

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

