RSS Feed

Statement Of The Day – “I JUST WANT THIS BOOK TO BE FINISHED!”

Statement Of The Day – “I JUST WANT THIS BOOK TO BE FINISHED!”

It’s 6:15 am and as I open up my WordPress Reader I find it filled to the brim with new book titles, new book covers, newly published authors. The excitement in the titles overflows into my system along with the colorful pictures and quotes. Thoughts of a finished book come to my head. I look around for my flash drive, my notes, and my research.

Is it just me or am I the only one out here that can’t seem to get my second book completed? I also want to be the one who gets to post about the new book just published. I want to be one of those to take a bow. I want to be up there on top again. “Arrrgh –  I JUST WANT THIS BOOK TO BE FINISHED!”

I haven’t even given much thought to the book cover yet. It will come to me though – in the middle of the night when I should be sleeping. That’s when the best ideas burst in my brain making me want to jump from the bed to begin work in the middle of the night. I know I will pay for it the next day if I give in to the calling, so I toss and turn a bit, disturbing Harry from his peaceful slumber, and finally fall back to sleep. In the morning as soon as H leaves for work,  I rush to my laptop to write everything down while the ideas are still swirling around in my head.

I’ve got two thirds of ‘What Line’ written. The rest is in my head. It can’t be that hard, can it? I’ve been waiting for the time to fall into my lap! Who am I kidding? We all know that doesn’t happen very often. I find myself using excuses too much –  I’ve got to promote ‘Crossing The Line’ still, add another post to my blog, do a little more research…  We all know what can happen as soon as that internet connection is made. Yep! Countless hours wasted when we get off track on that internet ‘research’. Did I really need to buy another book to read? But, if I buy his, maybe he will in turn buy mine! 🙂 And yes I did need to purchase that new sweater online today. It’s the last day of the sale and free shipping! Hummm? Let’s see who’s on Facebook. See where I’m going here?

Actually I am taking a couple of days starting right now to put some of those words on paper. You heard me right. “I am taking a few days to write on my book!”  Wish me luck.  It’s also raining so that stops my running for the day. Maybe I should disconnect my internet and hide my iPhone?

Elle

PS… Get this – when I was retrieving my link for ‘Crossing The Line’ I noticed I had another review so I had to stop to read it – who wouldn’t? 🙂 Done…Now I really am going to write. I promise! As soon as I post this, answer a few emails and comments on my blog…..

READ TUESDAY – It’s going to be HUGE!

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

2 responses »

  1. I’m still attempting to write my first book 🙂 Good luck with your second.

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

