RSS Feed

Oh Yeah…Don’t Forget Your Shoes…And Your Undergarments… And Your Dress!

Oh Yeah…Don’t Forget Your Shoes…And Your Undergarments… And Your Dress!

Did you remember to bring your shoes? Yes, that was the question that was asked that gave me the surprise of my life! Andrew had called and asked me if I would pin Jordan’s  chorale dress when we went to the next game and hem it for her. Of course I said yes. I could get it back to her the next week when we went for a concert.  After the game Harry and I went to Andrew’s apartment to spend the night. Andrew and Jordon were walking behind us up the sidewalk and I heard him ask her a question.

“Oh, did you bring your shoes?”

I spun quickly around almost dropping the load of “Andrew supplies” I was carrying. “What?” Did you just ask her if she brought her shoes?”

“Yes. I forgot to remind her,” he answered sheepishly.

Jordan looked at Andrew and then at me with a questioning look and said, “Yes, I have them.”

Now this may seem like an odd conversation to most of you, but everyone doesn’t know that when they have a hem pinned in a dress they must have the shoes they are going to be wearing with it so the hem will be the right length. And that undergarment thing…you really should wear the undergarments you will be wearing with the dress – especially brides!

Now where are your shoes? (Cadence having a fitting with her Mom for her Halloween Princess dress!

Now where are your shoes? (Cadence having a fitting with her Mom for her Halloween Princess dress!

This piece of information was coming from a kid who told his first grade teacher that he could not practice his reading because his mother was too  busy pinning dresses to help him!  (So not true!) He also would tell people that I was the “queen of pinning.” (Then where’s my crown?)

“How did you know to do that?” I asked him curiously. “How did you know to tell her to bring shoes?”

“You always tell people that.” he said as though it was common knowledge.

And to think I thought he never listened to me. You’d be surprised to find out what your kids actually do retain!

Later as I pinned Jordan’s dress  I told her that if he’d had the pins he could have probably pinned it for her and maybe even sewed it up! He can always have something to fall back on if this higher education doesn’t work out. 😉

Funny…funny…funny! 🙂

Elle

Do your kids ever surprise you with something they heard you say?

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

4 responses »

  1. She seems to have on Princess Shoes….but they are a little large! I would love to have a still person to pin a dress on. Mine didn’t stand at attention like Cadence is. Priceless picture! You should frame it! Andrew could be a tailor if all else fails!

    Like

    Reply
    • I just noticed those shoes! But the point is you are supposed to wear the ones you will be wearing with the dress, and yes, I think those were a little large. ‘Andrew’s Tailoring’ – It does have a nice ring to it. 😉 If he only knew we had a back-up plan for him!

      Like

      Reply
  2. You might have a maestro in training in your own little atelier 🙂

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

