RSS Feed

When Push Comes To Shove!

When Push Comes To Shove!

Sometimes our plans don’t always end up as we expect or maybe our expectations are set too high. I expected to finish the writing of ‘What Line’ by the end of the summer. Nope. So I set a new goal of getting it written by the end of the year and published by March. Now I’ve gone and done it. I’ve told you my goals, giving you some dates, and now I will have to be held accountable if I don’t meet that deadline. That goal is drawing nearer and way too fast. I’ll try not to let you down!

I’m writing though – not as fast as I would like, but writing just the same. Two more chapters were finished this weekend. Yay! That doesn’t sound like much, but remember I have to fit my writing in between everything else that takes precedence over it.  That’s Harry, the house, the chores, Andrew coming home for the holidays, the real paying job, this blog, and all that reading I can’t ever seem to catch up with. There is also the marketing and promoting of ‘Crossing The Line’ which never ends. Help! I need an assistant and preferably one that will work for free! Fat chance huh?

It’s all over whelming when you look at the big picture so I try not to do that and to just take one day at a time.  I set goals and sometimes I don’t meet those goals. If I do get this book finished by the end of the year, there’s still the editing, probably re-writing of some chapters, and proof reading. Oh yeah, did I mention the editing? That’s the one that keeps bouncing back like a giant rubber ball!

Then there’s the work of having to get the manuscript into my template to publish. (not an easy feat to accomplish even though I already did it once before with ‘Crossing The Line’).  And the book cover! My mind is a blank on that one. I’ve been thinking I want to change the cover of ‘Crossing The Line’ and coincide that ordeal with the publishing of ‘What Line’.  Am I setting myself up for more work than I can handle? I don’t think so. There are no real deadlines, no time clock to punch every morning, and no one standing over me with a whip. It’s just me, myself, and I.

If you don’t see me on here as often it’s because I am working hard to meet this goal I have set for myself and sometimes I need a little push…or shove. What ever it takes!

Elle

Read Tuesday is almost here! Give the gift of reading for the holidays this year.

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

2 responses »

  1. This is so true and good luck. Hopefully you can get everything done in time. You seem like a strong person do I am sure you can do it, I wish you the best 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Sadly I haven’t yet finished. My USB devices is locked up and haven’t been able to retrieve my contents! Ugh. I’m still trying though. Hoping not to have to start over. In the meantime I’ve started in my Alaska book! Thanks for stopping by. ~elle

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

