RSS Feed

♪♪♪♪♪ What’s The Sound Of Your Wake Up Call? ♪♪♪♪♪

♪♪♪♪♪ What’s The Sound Of Your Wake Up Call? ♪♪♪♪♪

Brrring, Brrring! Or better yet some random person playing the marimba – a different tune it seems every morning! ♪♪♪♪♪  🙂 Yeah, maybe that’s only my imagination, but when you get wakened out of a deep sleep it’s sometimes hard to tell what you are hearing.

It would be much more pleasant to wake up to Andrew playing the marimba!

It would be much more pleasant to wake up to Andrew playing the marimba!

Every workday morning I awake at 5:15 am to the tune from my cell phone alarm. I lie there for at least fifteen minutes before dragging myself out of the bed. I need more time – more sleep time! I’m thinking and planning my day. My first thoughts are – When Harry leaves at 6:30 I can crawl back into bed and snuggle down for another hour of sleep. Sounds good doesn’t it? So that’s the plan. 🙂

H is already up moving around, pulling clothes from the closet and warming up the shower as I slowly make my way to the kitchen, stopping along the way to turn up the heat just a tad. The newspaper he fetched earlier from the driveway is on the counter and I glance at the front page as I pass it with eyes that are still not quite focused.  I start by making H some coffee for his travel mug. Was that one scoop or two of coffee? I had already lost count and had to start over. My brain wasn’t aligned just right either this early in the morning.

The coffee is on as I rummage through the cabinets for the last packet of instant oatmeal with raisins and dates, count out some vitamins, and plug and unplug appliances as I put them into use. When I get that still-in-the-box-since-September over-the-range microwave installed it will make my life so much easier – one less electrical appliance to plug into one of my only two outlets in this kitchen! They’ll be no more musical electrical outlets. Yay!

I step back and take a look from eyes that have finally focused. Coffee, oatmeal, vitamins, cell phone charging in front of the bowl of oatmeal, and I also made a turkey sandwich for his lunch this morning! Well done and pat..pat..pat..on the back.

It’s now 6:17 am as I place the coffee mug, lunch sandwich, and cell phone on the table by the door. I sit on the sofa intending to read some of the newspaper as I wait for H to finish up and leave for work. That one hour planned power nap is calling my name! My laptop is on the coffee table in front of me and I decide to take a peak at my WordPress stats and reader as I wait. I knew I should not have done that. You reeled me right in with your clever posts and pictures I had missed while I slept. What time do some of you people get up anyway? Who posts on their blog at 3:30 in the morning? Apparently a lot of people do and I’m glad you did. It gives me new material to read while passing my time too early in the morning.  😉 I get so absorbed that when I look up H is bending down to kiss me goodbye for the day and is on his way out the door with coffee, lunch and phone in his hand.

So much for going back to bed this morning. I’m wide awake and anyway he probably made the bed as usual and I wouldn’t want to mess it up!

Thanks WordPress family for waking me up and getting my day off to a good start. 😉

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

5 responses »

  1. You’re welcome and write back at ya! WordPress, your friendly morning alarm clock. I think we should all give up our jobs, commitments, and just retreat to our cozy little WordPress world! …What’s that, you say there’s a group other than WordPress for people like me..?

    Like

    Reply
  2. You might be forgetting time differences. What may be 3.30am to you is late afternoon to someone else. I enjoyed reading about your start to the day. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

