RSS Feed

Christmas Tree Dilemma? Solved – Or Maybe Not!

Christmas Tree Dilemma? Solved – Or Maybe Not!

What??!! Uh…no…I don’t have room for a marimba in the house.” That was the answer I gave Andrew last week when he called and stated he may bring a marimba home during the break between semesters.

Andrew – “Well maybe in my room?”

Me – “Yeah right. I just cleared a path to your bed and have removed the majority of the excess overflow from other areas of the house out of  your room.” (No that fish has not found a home yet. He/She is still being moved from room to room waiting on a repair job.)

Andrew – “I could put it in the living room. We can move stuff around a little. It will just be for a couple of weeks.”

Me –  “Acck! I’m still trying to figure out where to put the Christmas tree.” (Yeah, I know. It’s time to get that done.) “Maybe in the Philadelphia room. I could take down the ironing board and you could squeeze it between the bed and my sewing machines – all four of them.”

Andrew – “That might work. I’ll figure it out.”

And he left the conversation hanging just like that.

Really? A marimba? Do you know how monstrous those things are? He’ll have to take it apart to get it in his car and then reassemble it when he gets home. It might fit in the hallway. The length may be okay. It should fit quite nicely between the entrance doorway and the door to the bathroom. But widthwise…hummm? Does anyone know how wide a marimba is? The hallway measures 33 inches wide – not even up to code! Would he still have room to even play it?

WOW! That's pretty big!

WOW! That’s pretty big!

Think of the hazards. If the house caught on fire in the middle of the night there would be chaos trying to get past that thing in the hallway carrying loads of stuff I want to save.  Not to mention we would then have a charcoaled marimba to pay for because I don’t see that being disassembled quickly and efficiently, then removed in all that confusion.  And lets hope the fire doesn’t start in the front end of the house because then where would we go? (Believe me, you don’t want to know.) Let’s hope no one gets deathly ill in one of the back rooms. Not being up to code – you know… the 1956 era homes – a stretcher can’t fit down the hallway anyway and less so with a marimba holding office in the space.

What to do…what to do? We’ll see. Maybe we could put it in the living room and hang ornaments on it. – So there! I’ve just solved the Christmas tree dilemma. 🙂

I’m up for any and all suggestions at this point. Got any?

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

14 responses »

  1. What? You don’t already have a marimba at your house? How have you managed?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. I’ve had a marimba in my house since my son was in high school. He couldn’t get enough practice time in at school. Luckily, I have a big basement. The marimba is huge and the collection of mallets takes up a lot of space too.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Andrew at college and can’t get I enough practice time so he won’t be home for Christmas break until Friday! I ask him if he was the only one left at school and he said no. Two of his roommates are still there – also practicing. I have no room for that marimba this year!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Reblogged this on Finding Myself Through Writing and commented:

    What’s a little Christmas cheer with out reminiscing? Seems as I have had ‘where-to-put-that-darn-tree woes’ for years. This post is a re-blog from 2013.I did finally find a place for my tree that year even though that marimba took up residence for a couple weeks in the Philadelphia room. ~Elle

    Like

    Reply
  4. I vote that u hang ornaments on it. U might want to paint it green first!!!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Or you could put the Christmas tree on top of it 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • I thought of that! He has me well trained though. The only thing that should touch those keys are the mallets. Maybe I could hang one from the ceiling. We do have high ceilings in this house. hahaha

      Like

      Reply
  6. Mine is still in a box in the closet, Ha!

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

