RSS Feed

It’s A Little Like Drowning – Your Life Flashes Before Your Eyes When It Happens To You!

It’s A Little Like Drowning – Your Life Flashes Before Your Eyes When It Happens To You!

I have spent the better part of the past seven days walking around patting my right butt cheek excessively. It’s a habit. You know how it is –  checking for the familiar feel of social media…text messages…vibration and a brrring, brrring…emails…stats…contacts…pictures of your grandchildren enjoying Christmas…the time…the warmth of that cell phone.  You name it – it’s there! At least it used to be there. Mine is gone. All gone. Wet. Wet. Wet. 😦

I did all the right things to no avail.

  • Retrieved it in less than a second.
  • Gently shook the water out.
  • Dried it off.
  • Bedded it down in a bag of rice for forty-eight plus hours.

There was still no sign of life.

Then I did all the wrong things.

  • Shook it some more – this time a little harder!
  • Held the hair dryer on it for quite some time.
  • Plugged it into the charger.

Oh yea! This time the white screen and apple logo came up…then above the top of the screen some text so tiny you needed a high-powered magnifying glass to decipher the code words written there…then flicker, flicker, off it went into the darkness brandishing a black screen. 😦

Back into the rice for a while – out to charge – another white screen – then flicker off. This happened numerous times over the course of a week. I lost count. Calling Sprint did no good even though we have been loyal customers for fifteen years. For heavens sake – take pity! The phone was only 6 months old and I was not eligible for another update until July 2015. They don’t understand I don’t want an update. I want the same iPhone 5 model that I had – just a working one. They can have this one back, refurbish it, then sell it to some poor soul for too much cash who had bad luck and more money than I have.

The Apple store couldn’t do much better. They wanted about $300.00 to send me a refurbished one, not taking into consideration that we had just purchased a MacBook Pro for Andrew for Christmas. For the cost of that they should have thrown in a free iPhone!

Nope. I did not have any Sprint insurance on it. I didn’t take out the Apple Care insurance. They had explained it didn’t cover water damage so I assumed the Sprint insurance didn’t either. I have never had any need for the insurance with my cell phone. Never dropped it in water or cracked a screen. I hope this isn’t the start of something new!

Today I dropped it off at the repair shop. They said they could work wonders. We’ll see.

 Being without my cellphone – my contact to the rest of the world – has been an experience. Try it sometime. It’s not fun! 😦

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

12 responses »

  1. Thanks for sending me here. As you know after reading my post about the time I dropped my iPhone into the toilet — after doing my thing — mine somehow came out unscathed. Well, after it dried out. You sent a second link in your comment on my post, but I got a 404 error, so I’m going to search around for a second wet iPhone post on your blog to see if I can find it. Thanks again.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Fellow Blogger – Elle from knowleselle | It Goes On

  3. I really do miss talking to you. I actually sat down and sewed for a little while today. Was too depressed to sew when Meggie left yesterday. It’s pretty lonely around here. Even the dogs act depressed.
    Hope the phone can be rejuvenated! That’s no fun! Find the old one and reinstate it.
    Debbie

    Like

    Reply
  4. Hope they do wonders for your phone. Happy new year. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  5. Great post, Elle, but sad story! Sure hope your phone can be restored!

    Like

    Reply
  6. So sorry for your loss. I feel like Taps should be playing. Hoping the phone repair shop is able to work a miracle for you this holiday season. This is certainly no way to start off the New Year 😦

    Like

    Reply
    • It’s like losing a member of the family! I didn’t even know my kids phone #’s to wish them a Merry Christmas. 😦 Had to message them on Facebook with my home # because they never used that one.

      Like

      Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

