RSS Feed

Brrrring, Brrrring, Brrrring! Is That A Cellphone I Hear Ringing?

Brrrring, Brrrring, Brrrring! Is That A Cellphone I Hear Ringing?

It was a cold, damp, windy day. The rain came and the rain went, off and on all day. I tried to stay busy to keep my mind from wandering as I waited for the phone to ring with news. I had high hopes of getting good news – not the dreaded answer that was sure to come. Ding…ding. I jumped, my heart beating fast as I grabbed for my cell phone before realizing it was the chime of the antique mantle clock sitting on a chest at the end of our bed that was making the dinging sound and my cell phone was still lying in a coma in a plastic bag at the repair shop.  😦

It was only a dream – more of a nightmare – that woke me and now at 2:00am I am wide awake.

Isn’t it pathetic to be so attached to an everyday object such as your cell phone? I seem to be obsessed with the reality that it may be gone for good and feel as I have lost a part of myself. After all, we spent a helluvalot of a lot of time together. There were the morning runs in the park, the emails over breakfast, the many texts from friends and family. I was  kept posted on my blog stats, my Etsy page, pictures of my kids and grandchildren. I woke to the sound of a marimba tune each morning without fail. My calendar was kept up to date as well as my bank account. The time of day – or night – and the weather forecast was always a tap away. My whole life was in the belly of that phone. This was my means of communication with the world. I’m going into ‘Words With Friends’ withdrawal as I type.

I now have to go into each one of my email accounts to check my email a few times every day, pull my bank accounts up online, run with no app or music, and try to remember all I had on my calendar. I never know what time of day it is and have to stick my head out the door to test the temperature before I get dressed. (In Florida you never know about the weather.) I carry my house phone around from room to room so I can hear when it rings, afraid I may miss that one crucial call. Am I so spoiled that I can’t do these few necessities of life without a cellphone? Yes, I am.

This sucks. Sorry, but it does. I know I said I was not going to dwell on this cellphone dilemma, but that is harder to do than I thought. I cannot believe that I became so attached to that @#$% phone. If the worst happens and all the life is sucked out of it, I have a backup plan, but first I will have to have closure. Maybe a memorial service or something? Oh dear, now that’s morbid…there has been no death certificate signed yet and I’m thinking about what to wear to the funeral!

The time now is 2:35am. I only know that because it shows up on my laptop in the right hand corner of the screen. I’ve had to hunt up a clock lately for that information. I’m going back to bed now and hopefully to sleep. Maybe in the morning I will have good news to finish my thoughts on this subject. The guy at the repair shop said by the 8th, but they have to tell you it will take at least a week, don’t they?

Zzzz…zzzz…zzzz…zzzz…zzzz…zzzz…zzzz

-Two days and two sleepless nights later-

I held it together fighting the urge and not calling the repair shop for two days and then finally broke down and dialed their number.

Lorenzo – “Cellular Edge, this is Lorenzo speaking. How may I help you?”

Me – “Yes,” I said. “I need to check on my cellphone repair. You probably remember that poor drowned cell phone that did not respond to being cradled in a bed of rice, blown dry with a hair dryer, or resting under my car’s heater vent for two days while travelling back and forth to Atlanta.”

Lorenzo – “Oh, yes. Just a minute while I check.”

(Rustling of papers and murmuring in the background for too long of a time. This can not be good.)

Lorenzo nonchalantly says – “I have it right here. We cleaned the corrosion and mold. The forward facing camera won’t work, but all else seems to be fine. You can pick it up anytime. The charge will be $39.99.”

Me – stunned and absent of breath, stutters – “Sesseeriously?” (Can you tell I wasn’t expecting this good news?) “You mean its working? It comes on? Everything is in there?”

Lorenzo – “Yes, it’s all there except for your selfie camera as I said.”

Me– “Oh goodness! You’re kidding! I can live with that. I’ll be right there to pick it up!”

So that’s the story. I should have baked Lorenzo some cookies, but didn’t take the time. I was in too much of a hurry to get to that repair shop and cuddle up to my baby again.  I can put away that black mourning dress and shoes now. It has been too long, I tell ya! I feel whole again! 🙂 H said I had been in pretty bad shape.

It’s charging now because its little heart had just about fizzed out. Watch out world – I will be in touch soon! I know Andrew probably enjoyed the absence of my ‘staying in touch’ – he knew how to get me when he needed money though! LOL!

Just like new!

Just like new!

Selfies aren’t always so great anyway, are they?

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

13 responses »

  1. Pingback: Fellow Blogger – Elle from knowleselle | It Goes On

  2. It becomes like a personal relationship that’s ruptured, doesn’t it? Everything we do now brings us back to our little devices. They trot around after us, accompany us in everything we do. Puppies used to serve that purpose!

    Like

    Reply
  3. I’m glad your phone is working again. I really enjoyed reading this post, and liked the way you told the story.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Haha! I think this is your best post yet! 🙂 And is that Sydney as your background?

    Like

    Reply
  5. We are so pathetic to live with these devices the way we do. I know I am worst off than you, but what can I do, I have to have them. Glad you are back LIVE again.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Glad it is finally working!!

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

