RSS Feed

Time Well Spent – And Don’t Forget To Like And Share!

Time Well Spent – And Don’t Forget To Like And Share!

Since my cellphone came out of its coma a few days ago, I am a little leery of using it too much – don’t want to wear it out or send it into any kind of shock. You know how it is when you are sick and laid up in bed with the flu or some other ailment for a week or two. It takes time to get your strength back and get back into the swing of things! 🙂 I keep waiting for the poor baby to go into cardiac arrest!

My major source of social contact is resting comfortably and getting stronger every day while I am using my time wisely catching up on my blog reading and writing some chapters on ‘What Line’. There have been so many great posts come up in my reader in the last few days about marketing strategies. Here are a couple links with some helpful information for you – Chris McMullen and David Gauchran.  It may be worth your time to click on these links if you are in the marketing and promoting process.  It takes a lot more time to market and promote than I seem to have these days. I keep at it though. I’m learning a little bit more every time I open up my reader. There’s a lot of information out there. You just have to look for it.

I’m glad to see it is ok to take Goodreads off my list as a promoting tool. I can’t seem to figure out how to do much on Goodreads and have even been denied into a group/club –  whatever you call them. It hurt my feelings. 😦  I was accepted into one though, and have never done a thing with it. I haven’t had the time! Maybe that’s why I was denied on the other. haha! Maybe I haven’t spent enough time on the site. I do admit it is the last marketing tool I ever think of. LinkedIn is another tool I haven’t used effectively. It shouldn’t be rocket science though. Just give me a list of what to do and I can usually get it done.

I read a very detailed list from SK Nichols of what to do on Amazon to get your keywords into a search list. To me it was detailed, but to others, maybe not so much. I tweaked my keywords and hopefully in the right way to produce some action. We’ll see what happens!

I do wish that some nice, knowledgeable, fellow blogger could tell me exactly, word for word,  how to make my featured image on my blog (I’m using the Liquorice theme) come up when WordPress automatically sends my published blog to Facebook! The information I have pulled up on help is very confusing to me. Sometimes I am lucky and presto – there it is! Other times I get a random picture, my profile pic, a pic of my book, or one of the other pics I have inserted into the blog body. I never, ever know what to expect. Feel free to offer any tips!

Another thing that has been rolling around in my mind recently is my personal Facebook page. I’m thinking of separating my personal page from my Elle Knowles and Crossing The Line Facebook pages by not posting any of my author stuff on my personal page.  Here’s what I posted:

I’m seriously considering separating my Elle Knowles and ‘Crossing The Line’ Facebook pages from my personal Facebook page. That would mean my posts on my blog, knowleselle, and updates for ‘What Line’ and any other of my author related news would only post to your news feed if you LIKE one of those pages. Sometimes I feel like 2 people and don’t want to burn my friends out on my updates. Search for these pages by names listed above if you want to get those updates and then like and share. (I haven’t figured out how to add a hyperlink to Facebook post yet.) I still have that free book to give away too! You have nothing to lose.
What do you think?

I received quite a few LIKES on this post, but what does that mean? I should or I shouldn’t? Could they at least clarify that LIKE just a little? Geeeze!

Most of you are not associated with my personal Facebook page and a few of you have liked my Elle Knowles or Crossing The Line page, so you don’t get all those multiple updates x two or three. WordPress makes it so easy to advertise through these venues. BTW,  feel free to LIKE and/or SHARE  on those Facebook pages any time and thanks in advance! 🙂

I also have read that if you don’t have a little interaction with all those Facebook pages you LIKE as in commenting and sharing or even visiting once in a while, you stop receiving updates from them in your news feed.  I’ve really had a hard time getting viewers to actually LIKE and SHARE on Facebook. I don’t think they understand the concept. So I guess I need to post,  “Let’s get some interaction of some kind on here!” hahaha Will that get your attention? It’s just a thought. 🙂

Marketing and promoting is never-ending, especially if you are continually writing another book. I find myself promoting this blog, Facebook page, author page, Pinterest, even my ETSY page. I promote blog on blog, blog on twitter, Facebook on twitter, blog on Facebook, Facebook on blog, etc., etc., etc. The combinations are endless, I tell you. It comes down to one thing in the long run though – I’m really promoting ‘Crossing The Line’!

What are your thoughts on promoting and marketing, especially when you don’t want to burn out your friends and family? They only need one book – right?

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

6 responses »

  1. Hello, Elle. Thanks for your kind follow. I’m afraid that I’ve recently had to suspend my policy of doing mutual follows, as I can barely keep from being inundated by WordPress email alerts. Hopefully this will change soon.

    Cheers and best of luck with the writing.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Those keyword tips are golden. 🙂 I’m glad to hear your cell phone has responded. (Thank you for the mention.) Happy 2014.

    Like

    Reply
  3. I had that same issue with facebook about the image. Unfortunately, after exhaustive research, I discovered that it is NOT a wordpress issue, but a facebook issue…and they don’t care. Their software grabs random images from your blog when you publish a post. Their cache is emptied irregularly, meaning that whatever image is largest at the moment the pics drop into the cache to be distributed is the one that is going to post. Sucks.

    Like

    Reply
    • That’s good to know! I was becoming very frustrated with this issue. What will be will be I guess😒humm? Maybe I should make that pic the largest? Just a thought? Technology sometimes fails me! Hahaha

      Like

      Reply
      • My book image was coming up with every post and some family and friends thought I was over-marketing my book. I put a blavatar image in place, like the one you have that shows your pick in the WP tab. My posts will show my picture if I don’t post an image with the post, but more often than not, it will post a posted image…I just don’t get to pick if there are more than one…which sometimes gets freaky. I have some friends who stopped the auto post feature from facebook, and if they have a post they feel that their friends and family would enjoy, they just copy the URL and write a few words and then paste the URL on FB status. I don’t worry about it anymore. A lot of my friends and family like ready my posts, and I would be hard pressed to decide which ones do and which don’t. The ones who don’t can always unlike me. It wouldn’t make me cry, and I have told a few.

        Like

        Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

