RSS Feed

Dunkin Donuts vs The Entergizer Rabbit?

Dunkin Donuts vs The Entergizer Rabbit?
  • Open and place in bowl an individual oatmeal packet – with raisins, dates, walnuts added.
  • Add measured amount of water – give or take a drop or too.
  • Place in microwave – newly installed over-the-range microwave! 🙂
  • Punch in desired time on keyboard – wiping away smudges with soft cloth to keep that big boy shiny as a new penny!

When the appliance beeps, H’s breakfast is done! Now how easy is that? And thankfully, that is all he wants with a glass of juice in the mornings before going off to work. Weekends are a bit different. There is actually a flame involved!

The coffee pot is plugged in and all I need to do is add a couple scoops of coffee, some water, flip a switch, and in minutes the coffee is brewed. I know – there is an even better way if I had a Keurig, but I can’t seem to justify that purchase since H is the only coffee drinker in the house right now and then only  a to-go cup on weekdays for work and one or two cups in the mornings on the weekends. I can’t seem to justify a cook or housekeeper either, but its a nice thought!

Wallet, keys, paperwork, coffee to go on the table by the door and he’s off for the day!

Now it’s my turn. Of course in the middle of all that breakfast preparation and getting H off to work, I was checking my stats, flipping through emails, and sneaking a peek at Facebook on my cellphone. As he walks out the door I open my laptop and really get down to business. The screen is bigger, I can read more easily and open attachments in a sec. Pictures pop up, documents are revealed, and I can even add a little music as a background effect if I want.

What a life!

But, we all must come down off that cloud and get into the swing of things. The work day has arrived. The real paying job is waiting for me in the back of the house, and if I can get back there early enough there may be some time this afternoon to promote, market, and write some on ‘What Line’ .  🙂

Slowly, I make my way back to the Philadelphia Room to sew wishing I was through with the ‘re-doing in that room! Anything to make it not so depressing while I’m sewing. Maybe hang a few pictures, install the blinds that have not yet been bought and remove extra unneeded, unwanted furniture and knick-knack items. Never any time though. It seems I’m always in the middle of something more important.

There are so many distractions around to steer me off course. My mind whirls from one task to another as I sew, spinning with ideas for accomplishing the next ‘project’. I sew a while, add some clothes to the washer, remove some clothes from the dryer, fold, hang, and put them away. Back at the machine I sew some more, then change laundry over in the machines again. The sewing goes on. I answer a few calls and with headphones on I can sew and talk. How great is that! I take a stack of the finished pillow covers to the front of the house and stack them with the rest to be filled and closed, thankful for the zippers in this order. That means no handwork! I check on the last load of laundry and head back to the sewing machines.

I feel like that guy on the Dunkin Donut commercial – Got to make the pillows…got to make the pillows…got to make the pillows – when I’d really rather be the Energizer Rabbit!

How’s your day going? Are you the donut man or the rabbit?

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

9 responses »

  1. I don’t feel bad leaving my tree up until after New Year’s now that I have learned someone else just took it down today! HA! I think more than I actually do. It is a writer’s syndrome (that’s what I am calling it…don’t tell my husband…he had to wash his own socks before this trip to Ohio). I have no excuse…no excuse for not having my next book written either. I am still thinking.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Always the donut man. Sewing is going to have to rest. It’s 1:13. Think it’s high time for a shower…then the Christmas tree has to be undecorated and put away TODAY! I’m steadily rolling along. Trying not to leave home today. I get more done that way! Keep on rolling…it will eventually get done…I have faith in you. Start with packing away those knick-knack items. May be room for one more box in storage! Now what is your advice for me? Besides the nut house 😬?

    Like

    Reply
  3. I love the perspective. I haven’t seen the commercial you mentioned, but from your description I would have to say I am the donut man.

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

