RSS Feed

Hearts, Love, Be Mine, Or Maybe I Am Just Overextended!

Hearts, Love, Be Mine, Or Maybe I Am Just Overextended!

Who in their right minds gets up in the wee hours of the morning to write? Three am to be exact! Not sure if I am in my right mind or not, but I did! It is another one of those nights – you know – when your mind is spinning and twisting with too much information and too little time to get it all done. Not being able to keep still I quietly crept from my bed and here I am – right where I should not be – writing this all down, least I forget!

Designing and stitching up more pillow covers was definitely not in my master plan on projects to complete this week. I had only stopped by the fabric shop to pick up some serger thread and an extra tape measure so I would have one for Friday to measure H’s incoming band students for new uniforms. Yay! Finally after some long hard work by dedicated band parents, the WHS Band will be sporting a sharp new look in the fall of 2014. It’s about time!

I knew better than to go through that store without my blinders on. There on the shelves were all the brightly colored Valentine fabrics. They seemed to be calling my name – loudly. What the heck I though. My Christmas pillow covers went over well the last two years in my Etsy Shop. Maybe Valentine pillows would be the next fad. I picked out several different designs, some coordinating ribbons, and threw in some buttons and zippers to match. Its just one more project in my long list of projects.

So…this fabric buying spree is the main reason my head is whirling around with thoughts of HEARTS and LOVE and BE MINE. I tossed and turned for a couple hours, placing and replacing my images on the fabric. I rearranged the lettering, enlarged some hearts, re-drew some lovebirds, searched for a scrap of ribbon I knew I had somewhere in that Philadelphia room, and I’m sure I sewed up umpteen dozen pillow covers in my fitful bout of sleep. The problem with that is they are still waiting to be made in real life!

photo 16

I think of the stack of cut pillows I picked up from work today. There is at least 25-30 hours worth of work there to be done by next week. With January always being a lean month for us I should be concentrating on them instead of creating more work for my self. What am I thinking? I know what I am thinking. There is always a way to squeeze a little more time out of the day! This is exactly why I haven’t finished ‘What Line’ – I keep adding work to my day. Uggh!

My mind jumped from pillows to my long list of tasks I needed to get done. I didn’t want to forget to cancel a couple of hotel rooms for the high school SEUS before the end of the month. Maybe if I think about it over and over for a few minutes I will remember in the morning and won’t have to get up to write myself a reminder note. Oh yeah, it is morning. I meant at a decent hour in the morning.

I remind myself to watch that FJM video on measuring for those band uniforms again. I don’t want to forget to take every measurement that is needed. Don’t forget the tape measure – the one that started this whole make-some-Valentine-pillows-idea! Don’t forget to pick up the cake on the way to the school Friday. I did order that cake didn’t I? Hummm?

From there I thought about Andrew and the conversation we had Sunday night. I hope I convinced him that depleting his bank account to buy a computer program – one that will be useful to him for school, but is not mandatory he have right this very second – was not a good idea.

“Yes, I know it is on sale now, and I know you have money coming in from working the middle school SEUS, and more for the high school SEUS later in the month, and I know you plan on working spring break. You also have to eat,  put gas in your car for the next two weeks, and have some back-up money. Your school money won’t come in for another week or so and its just not a good idea.”

You see, I am trying to teach him to be responsible with his money. He didn’t seem too happy when he hung up, but he did call me late Monday morning and we had a nice conversation about the classes he was taking this semester and other school matters, so he was over it.

There is a mental image of the list on my desk. That never-ending list of items to complete and then check off in a timely fashion. That doesn’t always happen. Have I done this, have I done that, can I delegate this to someone else?  Yeah right! And who would ‘someone else’ be? It all sits on my shoulders and I bring a lot of it on myself, I must admit.

My mind is racing and my hands are itching for a pair of scissors to cut that awaiting fabric down the hall.  My shoulders are aching from slumping over this keyboard and my body is beckoning slumber. What part of me will win? The thought of slipping under the covers next to a warm body is pulling me close. The thought of forty winks or so is inviting. That won’t be happening though. It is 5 am and my alarm will alert me in fifteen minutes. It will be time to get H up and out the door to work. I think the donut man may win again today. I will be working in a daze all day!

I think I may overextend myself sometimes and then I pay for it the next day! Am I the only one who does that?

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

8 responses »

  1. The only time I wake up at 3am and can’t go back to sleep is when I have had a steroid shot for poison ivy. Then all I want to do is eat!
    Wish I had that excessive energy!

    Debbie

    Like

    Reply
  2. I sometimes wake up at 3 am and think that I should get up–then I remember how cold and dark it is, and think better of the idea and cuddle deeper under the covers. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. Oh Elle, 3:00am is too early for me! I get up at 5:30 and stumble around with a fuzzy mind. My thoughts don’t race, they slowly drag themselves around.
    I’m sure your friends and family, or whoever the lucky recipients are, will love your pillows.

    Like

    Reply
  4. I’m jealous! 3 am?! That has never happened me…and I doubt it ever well. You’re giving me an inferiority complex, Elle, with all this activity. Maybe I need more caffeine…

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

