RSS Feed

You Guessed It – We Have A Winner – “We Have A Bear We Can Send!”

You Guessed It – We Have A Winner – “We Have A Bear We Can Send!”

Down deep in the land of forgotten toys the fourth bear was soon discovered. Gently, gently, gently he was pulled from his hiding place by four girls ranging in age fourteen down to age six. You see, they were never really attached and happily  passed him along to the next little sister born. Yes, he’s been around, but no worse for wear – only a little pink stain on his nose from a candy-feeding-experiment-gone-bad.

Not realizing it, when I posted about Bear having holes I actually sent out an all-points bulletin. Yep, you guessed it – We have a bear!  Sydney has a bear! We could start our own little Eden Toys home for orphaned bears. First we had Mie-Mie Bear, then Bear, then Bear 2, now another bear. Sydney’s not old enough to name her bear yet, but I can pretty much guess this will be Bear 3. (That’s a lot of bear clothes we will have to make.)  For a much beloved D I S C O N T I N U E D Bear, we are Bear poor! 🙂

I’m a little ashamed to admit this, but a few hours after I posted Oh No! Bear Has Holes! I got a response.  My daughter, Amie – Mie -Mie Bear is her namesake – sent me this text: “We have a bear we can send. It’s in the toy box. I will have to find it.”

Oh My Goodness! How did Jessie and I completely forget about the Johnson family bear? It’s all coming back to me now as I poke and prod around in my brain. Maddy is the second grandchild and when she was born I sent her a bear! We were going to keep up the bear tradition, but from there it all went downhill when Eden Toys stopped making this particular bear.

True to her word, Amie had the girls dig deep for this particular bear as soon as they arrived home from school! They pulled and tossed, discovered once cherished items long forgotten, and finally out peaked Bear! A little smashed, a mite twisted, but nothing a good cleaning and reshaping couldn’t fix. Thanks so much Maddy, Abby, Gabby, and Aly for letting the Legendre family adopt your bear. He’ll be safe and well cared for I’m sure. We may not be so lucky in acquiring Bear 4 if another little Legendre baby comes along in later years though.

As you can see, Bear was sprayed,bathed, dried, fluffed, packed, and posted. Off he went to his new home to meet his long-lost relatives. A few days later he arrived safely in the arms of Sydney Paige Legendre!

sydney and bear“The Bear family and friends!”

Mie-Mie Bear looks a little lonely sitting on Andrew’s shelf in her plastic bag. I’ll sit her next to Mike the Tiger for some company. Maybe I will have to take Mie-Mie for a visit to see her cousins – or would they be nieces and nephews? Hummm?

Mie-Mie Bear and Mike“Mie-Mie Bear – The bear who started it all!”

All’s well that ends well! Do you have any beloved bear stories to tell?

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

6 responses »

  1. Reblogged this on Finding Myself Through Writing and commented:

    If you enjoyed the bear story yesterday – ‘Oh No! Bear has holes’, here is the re-blog of the sequel. Cousins taking care of cousins. Such love!

    Like

    Reply
  2. How sweet! The bear family grows 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. I can bearly contain myself–too cute!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Bob bought Rob a white polar bear when he was born. Then, when Meggie was born she got the brown one. We’ll see if their children like them, some day. (Hope they’re not dry rotted by then!)

    Debbie

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

