RSS Feed

A Little Bit Of A Book Review Page

A Little Bit Of A Book Review Page

A Little Bit Of A Book Review page is now up and running. I may fall flat on my face with this experiment. Who am I to judge? I’m not really judging. What you’ll find on this page is my LIKES.  I’ll leave the negative judging to someone else because lately most of what I’ve read is filling the void of good reading. I haven’t picked up a BAD book in a long while. I think I may have issues of telling someone they did it wrong! I don’t want to hurt any feelings. And then again – I’m no judge. Not an expert. It’s only my opinion.

Actually I’ve been reading a lot of self-published books. Before I self-published ‘Crossing The Line’ I never really gave it much thought. Click on that book cover over there to your right or here and you can judge for yourself. I would love to read your review. I  read anything and everything that catches my eye. Now I know where to look to get some of the best self-published books around. Writing my own blog and following other blogs on WordPress has put me in the know! 😉 I also know how important book reviews are to authors. It’s incentive every time a new review pops up for your recently published book you labored over and made public to the world. YOUR VOTE COUNTS!

All of what I read is not self-published though.  I love to read and I know what I like. If a book is recommended to me and I find the title and blurb to my liking, I usually give it a try. My reading genre is a bit well-rounded I would say. 🙂

Here’s a few that I’ve recently finished and I think you may enjoy too. You can click on the links, go to Amazon and read all the great reviews.

  • The Six Train To Wisconsin  – by Kourtney Heintz –  I just randomly came across this title. I think it may have surfaced on the front of my kindle one day. There’s a little bit – really a whole lot – of telepathy in play here! It really made me think – what if? Oh my goodness! No more secrets. I wouldn’t even want to go there!
  • The Rosie Project – by Graeme Simsion – If you want a good laugh and some entertainment in your life, read this. So, so, so, funny. Hilarious! The main character, Don, has no clue about life even though he is well-organized, well-educated, and fit-as-a- fiddle! I didn’t want to put it down. I know you hear that all the time on book reviews, but REALLY I didn’t. My brother suggested it and he almost never steers me wrong with a good book! Thanks Chip!
  • Red Clay and Roses – I really loved, loved, loved this book by S K Nicholls. She self-published and did an amazing job! If you are interested in a little history of life how it was in the days of the Jim Crow Law down in the deep south, this highlights the lives of people who lived it! Very powerful reading. Susan and I became friends from reading and following each others blogs. You can never have too many friends!  😉
  • Catskinner’s Book – Believe it or not I came across this title perusing blogs. Yes, I knew what a catskinner was – at least I thought I did. To my knowledge catskinners were the men who operated the big equipment clearing roads and land when we lived in Alaska. That’s the name that was given to them. Was I surprised to learn there is now another definition! This book has absolutely nothing to do with that! hahaha If you want some science fiction, fantasy, some mysterious happenings, a little supernatural hero kinda thing, and want to know the ‘other’ definition of catskinner, you must check this out.  The author, Misha Burnett really reels you in with his story. What an imagination!
  • Silk For The Feed Dogs – This is another of those ‘I know what that is’ books.  Hummm? Feed dogs. Do you know what a feed dog is? It’s a part on a sewing machine. I sew, therefore, this seemed like a book I could get into. And it was! Jackie Mallon’s  characters were colorful and they captured your heart. She writes what she knows and has written quite an intriguing  story. Check out her blog here. That’s how I met Jackie and we continually stay connected this way. Another good friend made from blogging.

Sooooo…authors and readers, start typing in those goodies. I may read yours next. 😉 I’m always up for a good read. I can’t write on ‘What Line’ all the time, even though that is my secret goal. 🙂 What a life that would be!

That’s five – count them – five good books I’ve consumed since November. And I thought I didn’t have time to read! With what I haven’t listed added to the count I have way more time than I thought. I read in bed, in the bath, in the car, waiting between numbers at concerts with H, anywhere I can squeeze in a few good words. There’s always a book in my purse for just-in-case!

Read any good books lately? What do you read and where do you read?

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

8 responses »

  1. So happy to make your list! My problem is there are so many good books and not enough time to read them! Must cut down on sleep 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Thanks for the great review Elle! 🙂 How cool that you stumbled over my book like that. It’s really true, if you make reading a priority and do it during random down time, you can read a lot more than you think.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Thanks for the shout out. Some good reads to look at as well! I am reading Catskinner now. My husband just read it along with Cannibal Hearts and he was impressed.

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

