RSS Feed

Your Opinion Counts, But Do I Have To See It In Writing To Know Its There?

Your Opinion Counts, But Do I Have To See It In Writing To Know Its There?

Yes, yes I do! Yes, I do need to see it in writing. Your opinion is what I need to see in writing. Your comments. Your Likes.

Why? Just because. It shows others what I’m made of. It shows others that there are people out there that care, that appreciate – or maybe not appreciate. I could handle that. It shows me that you are seeing, and reading, and understanding what I am trying to do. It makes me feel that you look for me every day anticipating the message I am sending. That’s why. Because it makes me feel better.

I’m still honing this skill of writing and what you think is important to me. This blog I write weekly helps me to master those writing skills. I feel it builds endurance. Your comments and likes push me even farther toward my goal.

Believe it or not it may make you feel better too. When I  started blogging I was a little intimidated in posting comments on blogs of others. Yes – even when I felt like there was something valuable I could contribute. I had an opinion and someone out there cared enough to acknowledge my opinion or comment.

Yes, I reply to all comments on my blog. Isn’t that what I am supposed to do? Sometimes I reply twice or even thrice. It all depends on what you have to say. I reply to comments made on Crossing The Line Facebook page. I reply to all comments made to me in person. I would even reply to reviews on Amazon for ‘Crossing The Line’, but I don’t think  that can be done.

No, I’m not the COMMENT QUEEN. I’m far from that. Ask Andrew. He thinks I’m the ‘QUEEN OF SEWING’. LOL! I read other blogs that I follow and when I like or comment  I sometimes see, “You and 80 other bloggers have liked this post so far.” Also there is, “64 Comments for this post”. Where are my 80 LIKES and 64 COMMENTS?  That may be a little extreme. I’m just a small blogger in this relatively new world of blogging. I’ve only been around for a year.

I’ve made some acquaintances – I like to call them friends – from commenting back and forth on other blogs.  You know who you are. 😉 That’s what’s going to happen when you put yourself out there, so don’t be shy!

I know you’re out there. I can see it from my stats. I also know a few of you are out there because I know you personally and when we bump into each other I always get a personal comment from you about my most recent post. Thanks for that and I’m glad I can reply in person, but just in case we don’t bump into each other I’d still like your opinion! 😉

I also try to visit the sites that have liked my posts not leaving a comment, and I leave a thank you comment and sometimes even follow if it’s an interest to me. I feel that’s good blogging etiquette or is there a rule book on that somewhere I’ve missed?

Follow me on Facebook, Twitter @knowleselle, and this Blog and you won’t miss a thing. You can also follow me on Google, but I haven’t quite figured all that Google stuff out yet!

Don’t stay lurking in the background. Hit that like or comment button. Try it – you’ll like it!

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

21 responses »

  1. You’re so right! I often think, ”How can I have 100 views and only 4 comments?” Thanks for commenting on my blog. Have a good day!

    Like

    Reply
  2. You have a lovely site Elle, first time visiting, and I apologize that it took me this long. I’m always very humbled to receive comments and feel it’s necessary to answer…to show appreciation that someone, like yourself, took the time to read my prose. I hit the LIKE button on FB. Hope it registers 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. Well, okay then, you got it! They are little votes of confidence in this otherwise lonely writing existence, aren’t they? I find that the quantity of likes and comments grows over time steadily. Old posts if they are still relevant continue to get Likes. I too see people with 115 comments and I wonder how they keep up with all the replying. It must be a second day job!!

    Like

    Reply
    • Well, Jackie, I certainly don’t need a third job! I do enjoy the likes and comments though. It makes me feel as though I didn’t waste some of the little ‘free’ time I have. You know, that time I should be finishing ‘What Line’! The internet is so much more exciting though! And yes, I do see the likes and sometimes comments from older posts, especially if I add a link in my current post.

      Like

      Reply
  4. I’ve found that the comments I get on my blog (and that I make on others blogs) have evolved over time. I’m more comfortable making comments now than I once was–and I also have developed a better sense of the boundaries.

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, there are always boundaries. I’m a lot more in my comfort zone now than I used to be. But the ‘friends’ I’ve made was well worth the effort. It’s like our own little family here at WordPress. Someone always has your back. 😉

      Like

      Reply
  5. I agree, Elle. The Likes and Comments are writing nourishment for the soul. And I, too, am amazed at the posts with a trillion likes and comments.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Ok, just noticed that there is a facebook like button! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  7. One reason you could not be getting likes is because when you hit the like button it asks you to sign in. At least it does that to me. A lot of the people reading your blog may not have/want an account with WordPress. I have noticed that your writing has gotten better. It flows well and keeps my interest more. 🙂

    And Andrew also thinks your the queen of talking! Haha!

    Like

    Reply
  8. I’m always happy to comment on fellow blogger’s posts but I only comment if I think it is relevant or adds to the topic.
    A great way to inspire comments is to pose a question within the post asking bloggers their opinion about the topic of the post. For this post you could say “Is receiving comments on your blog posts important to you?. If so, why? If not, why not?”

    Like

    Reply
    • As it should be. I always try to comment after reading if its a topic that puts a thought in my head. I always like, but don’t always leave a comment. It’s a little like Facebook – there is no ‘don’t like button’! 😉 Great idea about posting a question within the post. I always tend to leave my questions for last. This is something new I will have to try. Thanks! Liking a post always lets the author know you were there. Keeps you on your toes!

      Like

      Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

