RSS Feed

Go Ahead And Delete All -You’ll Probably Never Miss It! Unless…

Go Ahead And Delete All -You’ll Probably Never Miss It! Unless…

DELETE…SPAM…DELETE…READ…KEEP…FILE…DELETE…READ…DELETE…JUNK…JUNK…READ…SPAM…FILE…JUNK…

My personal email inbox was bursting at the seams. It could be a looooong process clearing it out. It could take all day or days. Maybe even weeks, months, or a year or two. Help! I’m drowning in a sea of electronic paper!

Unless…DELETE ALL! Do I dare? I could. Yes I could. My finger hovered over that delete button. Just one little click of the key and my big fat inbox holding 1796 emails could be eliminated just like that! Shrunk down to its original size. Is there a key on our bodies for that purpose that I don’t know about? Who else has an inbox that is so out of control? I know I can’t be the only one!

But what if? That is always the question that arises as I hold my finger over that delete button. What if – I have some pictures from my kids of the grandchildren? What if – I have a password for something very important stored in one of the emails? What if – there is a receipt I might need? What if – there is an authentic – YOU HAVE JUST BEEN SELECTED TO RECEIVE $10,000.00. PLEASE REPLY! – email waiting for my response that I overlooked? The what if’s could go on and on until that inbox explodes.

Yes! That's the one I've been looking for!

Yes! That’s the one I’ve been looking for!

Would I really be able to find anything in all this mess anyway? My time is more valuable! So…DELETE ALL!

DELETE ALL!

DELETE ALL!

My its nice to see a clean inbox. 🙂

Now where’s that email with the…….surely I filed that one! 😦

Elle

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

17 responses »

  1. Final and scary! There is always that what if I deleted something important in the back of my mind!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Elle, I’m glad to hear that I’m not the only one who is consumed with trepidation when preparing to delete all. It just sounds, and is, so final.

    Like

    Reply
  3. This is so timely Elle…I finally emptied my trash that had so many deleted essays and pictures…took half an hour for it to complete…then I went to my bookmarks and tackled those…so many I never open…and onto my closets…but they say the more you delete the better it is for your computer…by the way, I simply love the photo at the top of your page with all the books. A library I’d like to get lost in 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  4. I always wondered but never found the time to ask: does everyone clean out their inbox as they go along or do they like me have emails stretching back to 2006 when they first opened their account keeping them as a sort of virtual diary? My husband, a Virgo, has files with the name of regular correspondents on them and pops each email he wants to save into the appropriate file… %-/

    Like

    Reply
    • Don’t you just hate people like that? Their actions anyway? Their sense of organization and accountability unnerves me. If my desk is squeaky clean then I can’t concentrate because I fear I have thrown away a slip of scratch paper with something important on it! That inbox will soon be jam packed again!

      Like

      Reply
  5. I would like to know how to rename an email that I have received. That way I can find it easier after I file it away. There’s got to be a way to do that. Maybe one day when I have a lot of time I’ll sit down and figure that out. Ha! That may never happen!

    Like

    Reply
  6. I’m thinking I should put my wordpress ones into a folder but then I may never look at it 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  7. I finally got my husband to sit down and help me make outlook folders for all of my email. My twitter goes to one file box, wordpress another, personal email address, professional email address, nursing business, then I have yet another old AOL account for facebook and junk mail (the only one I give out to places that sell me something), and so on. A real time saver and lets me have fun without feeling like i am going to miss something important.

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

