RSS Feed

Social Media – The Time-Consuming Effort Of It All! Is It Worth It?

Social Media – The Time-Consuming Effort Of It All! Is It Worth It?

Last week while tidying up my cluttered desk I found this list tucked discreetly between one of too many pieces of junk mail and my electric bill.  There was no title, no justification, no why,  – just these seven phrases:

  • Self promotion is not the only reason
  • Its my desire to create
  • My desire to be acknowledged for something good
  • Sewing acknowledges it
  • So does writing
  • Because I can
  • To give back to the world

What do these seven phrases mean? You got me there!  I think it had something to do with why I write. If there was a title I could decipher this jumble of words a little easier.

With further investigation it could have a little to do with social media also. We have to create and write in social media in order to promote. We have to give to the world a bit of ourselves and its great when you know you have been acknowledged.

You know what social media is don’t you? It’s that bit of writing that consumes much of my time –  my precious time, your time. That’s time that could be spent being more productive in other areas. I feel I waste a lot of time on social media. It’s a very time-consuming process to keep one step ahead of in the game of promoting and marketing. Does anyone else feel this way?

I could be writing. But wait…my blog IS writing. 🙂 I write on every other social platform I’m involved in.

I could be reading. Another wait…I also read when I blog because I have to keep up with my blogging buddies. I read on all the other social platforms as well!

These are just excuses aren’t they? Something like a cop-out? I’m not writing on ‘What Line’ as much as I should be because I can see this social media is consuming much of me. I have the blogging and Facebook down to a science now – or almost. There is still a lot of time involved though.  LinkedIn is slow going. Twitter still mystifies me. Pinterest is a good source of promoting, but I get lost in other interests when I open the website up. It’s better if I just pin to my page as soon as my blog publishes then forget about it! Google and Goodreads fall into the same category as LinkedIn – at a turtles pace! I guess I could add a plug here since this is one of my social media platforms. Check me out on those links above and connect! It makes my job so much more pleasurable and  easier when you do. 🙂

I researched social media and found this article. Do you know how may social media platforms are out there floating around on the internet? Read that article highlighted above for the top fifty-two platforms! There is no telling how many are not listed.

There's a lot of socializing going on!

There’s a lot of socializing going on!

I am subscribed to seven of the top fifty-two and no others. Some I haven’t even heard of. Will I subscribe to others? Maaaaaybe – and that’s a long maybe. Where would I find the time? I wouldn’t.  I’m drained dry of extra time and something has to be done about it.

Will I stop all this social media marketing and promoting? I doubt it. If I stopped all the social media then ‘Crossing The Line’ would not be promoted. All marketing and sales would come to a halt! Being an indie author it’s up to me to put my stuff out there. There’s no other way. It’s what I rely on.

I’ll have to learn the process of each platform a little better so that it doesn’t take up as much of my time. That’s doable. I have a plan in mind. I’ll google each one that gives me problems – the ones that I’m not quite sure of what to do with. I’ll make a list. A list like the one above, but with a title and an explanation. Then….when I come across it I’ll at least know what it’s for and what to do with it! 🙂 The internet is a great source of information and if you ask – it will tell.  Maybe you have a better plan to save time and be efficient at this social media promoting and marketing than I do and if you do please tell it to my ears! I’d love to hear about it.

Here’s my list with #1 being the one I know least about and #7 being the one I know more about:

Social Media Platforms To Research

  1. Google – Everything
  2. LinkedIn – Dig around, find out what makes it tick, and how to get involved.
  3. Goodreads – Same as above.
  4. Twitter – Learn what to do and not to do. Hashtags. What is protocol?
  5. Pinterest – Learn more about the promoting end instead of the interest in other articles.
  6. Facebook – There is always more to learn on here everyday. How to use this platform effectively.
  7. WordPress – Same as above.

Social media cannot be thrown out, discarded, or  forgotten. It’s what keeps the circle going. There is a better way and I intend to find out what that way is! Any suggestions?

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

6 responses »

  1. I think your little list reads very poetic.:-)
    But I know exactly what you mean. However I had a little breakthrough recently when the pressure of everything was getting to me. I realized that if Charles Dickens was alive today, he would be blogging (he was that kind of dude) because he would treat each post just like a magazine article: an opportunity to make people aware of his writing. So I try to think of blogging as writing little articles for a magazine. Entirely unrelated to selling books. But if a sale happens because of a post, even better. I struggle to find enough time to write my next novel but I carry on regardless. I Facebook (quite enjoy it) but have no Twitter (Screw it, I say), Still haven’t set up LinkedIn, gave up on Pinterest. There you go, I am what I am! No use beating myself up about it 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m not going to beat myself up anymore either. I have to be in the mood to do it right. Don’t want to put some half-hearted novel out there for the world to critique. As you said, “Carry on!”

      Like

      Reply
  2. I love how fair and balanced this post is. I think many authors forget, for instance, that blogging is a form of writing – like you said. Great post.
    ~SAT

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks Shannon for stopping by. Yes, blogging is writing and I feel it has helped me to see my writing differently and strive for better content. Its also good practice and a kinda homework! We must always do our homework – right?

      Like

      Reply
  3. I used linkedin when I was nursing. Especially when hooking up with other legal nurse consultants. It was a mess though. I did connect well with others, and attended many conferences for nurses and women, but had to make tons of email folders on my computer to hold and help organize the myriad of daily mail.

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

