RSS Feed

Dear Probably Already Spammed Contact – Beware!

Dear Probably Already Spammed Contact – Beware!

Dear Probably Already Spammed Contact,

If you get an email from me – beware! It could be spam! I didn’t send it. I promise I didn’t. My account has been hacked! Please forgive me. Delete any questionable ??? emails sent from my account. Contact me immediately if you receive any unknown links from me and don’t open any of the links included. Make sure your security software is up to date on your computer. That’s all I can say for now. Thank you for your cooperation, and again, I’m sorry this happened.

Signature

ACCK! My email has been hacked…compromised…forged…sending spam! What are people thinking? It was brought to my attention that questionable – and I mean VERY questionable emails had been sent to my contacts. They were sent six at a time. They were sent to family, friends, business associates, to anyone and everyone in my contact list which also included myself at other email accounts. That was yesterday. Two weeks ago it had happened and I quickly ground it to a halt by changing my password immediately. At least I thought I had. It then occurred from another account! Password now changed. This morning it happened again on the first email account. Has this every happened to you?

It’s mind-boggling what goes on behind closed doors – or in this case – email accounts. No, the accounts haven’t been closed, but they are signed out of each time I am through. I’ve tried to be careful. My password is kept secret. I don’t open links I am not sure of. Why is this happening?  What can I do about it? I have spent hours researching this and I always get the same answers.

  • Keep your password safe and change it often.
  • Don’t open any links from email you are not sure of.
  • Don’t open links in reply’s from emails you have not sent.
  • Keep your security software updated.
  • Delete contacts not known.
Be careful of what you open!

Be careful of what you open!

The list goes on and on. Sometimes it seems the inevitable always happens and once again spam is being sent from your email address.  What to do- what to do? I’m sending out emails to warn all my contacts. I’m checking carefully everyday. I’m changing passwords and then changing the changed passwords! I can’t keep up. I need a little black book for passwords and security questions as it is. Now I need one specifically for my email accounts. Who has time for all this malicious evil?

It's what I need now!

It’s what I need now!

So far, my author account has not been hacked into. I’ve received spam into it from those two personal accounts though and also into the account I use for H’s band emails. Hopefully all the contacts that receive this spam will not think that I actually sent all that horrible info.

The internet is a great invention and has made the whole world accessible to each of us. Why does there always have to be one bad apple in the bunch to mess up this great technology? (I’m sure it’s a bunch of bad apple’s and they are multiplying as I type!)

Have you checked your email accounts today?

Elle

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

5 responses »

  1. I’m not sure if I got one from you but I got one the other day from another blogger. I didn’t open that one at all.
    Don’t you hate that people with enough intelligence to use it for good, spend their time upsetting others by doing this sort of thing. I had my eBay account hacked and password changed three times until I linked my eBay account to a completely different email. It really is stupid.

    Like

    Reply
  2. I actually got one this morning, I deleted it, and I meant to write you back to let you know, but I got busy and forgot. No biggie, it was pretty obvious that it wasn’t anything that you meant to send.

    Like

    Reply
    • To receive one in my inbox is not the best feeling, but to have them sent to others from my address is something else! 😉 It’s got to stop soon. I’m running out of password ideas!

      Like

      Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

