RSS Feed

I Had A Mother Who Read To Me

I Had A Mother Who Read To Me

It’s still a bit early for Mother’s Day, however, this came to my mind. I first published this under a different title on May 8, 2013 and today I thought of it when I posted a picture and tag game on Facebook  here and here about bookworms. My mother was the greatest bookworm I ever knew.  She was one of a kind!

Enjoy!

Elle

The Reading Mother

by Strickland Gillilan

I had a mother who read to me
Sagas of pirates who scoured the sea,
Cutlasses clenched in their yellow teeth,
“Blackbirds” stowed in the hold beneath.

I had a Mother who read me lays
Of ancient and gallant and golden days;
Stories of Marmion and Ivanhoe,
Which every boy has a right to know.

I had a Mother who read me tales
Of Gelert the hound of the hills of Wales,
True to his trust till his tragic death,
Faithfulness blent with his final breath.

I had a Mother who read me the things
That wholesome life to the boy heart brings–
Stories that stir with an upward touch,
Oh, that each mother of boys were such!

You may have tangible wealth untold;
Caskets of jewels and coffers of gold.
Richer than I you can never be–
I had a Mother who read to me.

I read this poem once… a long time ago…sent it to my brother…reminded me of him…don’t know why…maybe the pirate thing…maybe because of the boy thing. I think the poem speaks to us all – girls and boys. My mother read to us incessantly when we were growing up. It wasn’t always children’s literature either. She read anything she could get her hands on to keep us quiet for the moment – newspaper articles, magazines, books of her own – and we listened with open ears and open eyes because she knew how to make it magical. She implanted the love of reading in all of us – there were five, four of us stair-step. She nurtured our imaginations. Mother also knew that if we were reading we were occupied and that kept us out of trouble! Smart woman. I tried to replicate that with my children and think I succeeded. Yeah – I know, Andrew only reads music and textbooks, but hey its reading. and he’s not in trouble! I can’t read music – can you?

I lived for the days we went to the public library. Does anyone remember the summer reading programs? We came home with stacks of books and our cards to fill out with lists of the books we had devoured. I can’t remember what the point was – can’t remember winning any prizes – just know as soon as that stack was consumed we headed off to the library again to retrieve another stack. I think we were in a little competition with each other – our friends and our siblings – to see who could read the most books during summer vacation – who could fill their card up first and start on a second one. It occupied our minds and kept us busy on those hot summer days. We were learning and didn’t even know it! I know if I had not read as much when I was younger, I would probably not have the passion to write today. I believe you have to learn to love to read before you learn to love to write. It’s kinda like crawling before you walk.

This is in remembrance of my  mother on Mothers Day for reading us those first words and getting me started. Thanks Mother – if only you could read us one more book.

HAPPY MOTHERS DAY!

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

8 responses »

  1. This is a part of my younger days, brought back through your tale. I had a mother who read to me and my brother. The only title I remember is a book called “Penrod and Sam” and I have no recollection of what it might have been about. Thanks for the memories!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Wonderful, Elle. A love of reading is one of the greatest gifts you can give to a child.

    Like

    Reply
  3. No one read to me 😦 I was the only reader in the family, think our library was treated a bit like a child minding service and one day while I was there I thought I might as well pick up a book…

    Like

    Reply
  4. As I have mentioned before on my blog, my mother died when I was very young, but I can recall her reading to us every night. That is the most memory I have of the sound of her voice. It was also most impressionable. I have always loved reading.

    Like

    Reply
    • My mother had a lot more patience than I did. I would rather read to myself than to others! My girls do love to read too though. She had as much to do with that as I did. A few years ago when she was still living they would share books because they lived in the same town. Glad they have that memory.

      Like

      Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

