RSS Feed

Sometimes Being Sad :( Also Means Being Happy :)

Posted on
Sometimes Being Sad :( Also Means Being Happy :)

Sometimes I get sad when I realize how fast life goes by. Children grow up, have families of their own – parents become grandparents, children become parents, grandchildren grow fast! My oldest grandchild (Ty) will start his senior year in high school this fall and the youngest grandchild (Sydney) will be crawling soon.

Andrew and I made a trip home to Louisiana a couple weeks ago. It was just the two of us. H was still working – school wouldn’t be out for another week.  😦 All my children would be together in one place for the first time since Andrew had graduated from high school.  🙂 It was important for me to have them all together like this. Probably more than it was to them. That’s what mothers do. We plan things and keep the family together.

Terri, Kerri, Amie, Jessie, Andrew

Terri, Kerri, Amie, Jessie, Andrew

Andrew decided to do the driving so I let him be in control of the music content. We listened to music with no lyrics  for hours. I guess that makes it classical and I’m not saying I didn’t like it, but that kind of music puts me to sleep. My eyes tend to close while traveling anyway!

We had a great time – children, siblings, grandkids, cousins – the list goes on. Lia and Charlee had their dance recital while we were there and Uncle Jason made his dance recital debut accompanying Charlee at the end of her first dance. Some things uncles go through for their nieces are unbelievable. They were a hit! 🙂  We have a video but no picture. 😦 It was the first time in a while I had attended a “Marlene’s Dance Academie’ ” dance recital. It brought back lots of great memories. 🙂

Ms Marlene, Charlee and Lia

Ms Marlene, Charlee and Lia

The long awaited crawfish boil that was the deal breaker to Andrew making this trip with me was the highlight of Friday evening. His sisters may have come in second on this deal!  As he was standing around the pot eating while the crawfish were cooking, Andrew said,  “This is the way to eat crawfish.” With about 75 pounds he was sure he would have enough! We don’t get food like this in Florida. Some places try, but we can always tell the difference between the real Cajun cooking and the generic. You can’t fool someone from Louisiana! 🙂

Thanks To The Cooks!

Thanks To The Cooks!

There’s a lot going on in our family now. Andrew has made Troy his home and comes “home to Florida” to visit. 😦 This makes me sad, especially since I worked so hard getting his room changed from a store room to a real bedroom this spring. He gave up his Sperry job in Destin to be able to work in the Troy band office, being sure it would be a  little easier than having to commute during the summer months while taking summer classes. He did find out that it wasn’t the easy job he had expected though. It will be good experience for him.

Even more changes are being made. Good changes and hard changes. One is making a big move, changing her life completely, another is rearranging her whole family life for the sake of others.  New jobs are in the future and prayers are being answered.   I’m so glad my children always have each others backs. 🙂

H and I are actually getting a few home improvement items checked off our list this summer before we take a trip to Arkansas for the fourth of July and before he starts back to work with band camp soon after. He is on the downhill slope of retirement now – just two more school years to go. These are happy, happy times and I foresee more around the corner. 🙂

How’s your summer progressing?

Elle

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

11 responses »

  1. Makes me homesick. Looking forward to seeing y’all on the 4th!
    Tish

    Like

    Reply
  2. Elle, you are right when you say that mom’s work at keeping the family together. I just had my four children, their significant others (none married yet, but two maybes). We just got our first grandchild a few days short of two months ago.

    Like

    Reply
    • What a blessing! Hope that grandchild lives close by. All of mine are 5-6 hours away and it’s hard to stretch myself so thin. When they are all together in one place I have to take advantage of it.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Sounds like you love to write…such a blessing, isn’t it? I need to stop by more. I enjoyed reading about your family. I yearn for what you have…too late for me, but it’s nice to live vicariously through your poignant, charming essay.

    Like

    Reply
  4. It sounds wonderful. My oldest is still living about 30 minutes away from us. We see the grandchildren generally when she needs us to do something for her (or them). My middle child still lives over 1000 miles away but is planning on moving back later this year or early next year. The Tween is fast becoming a Teen lol

    Like

    Reply
  5. Sounds like busy family times. My oldest is in Michigan now. Not too happy about that. His wife wanted to leave NC and move back to where her family is. Daughter is just around the corner from me. I get to play grandmother, but the little one has severe separation anxiety, so that’s not always fun. My youngest is still on the farm with his dad in GA. Don’t see or hear from him too much. My Spring has been wrapped up in my WIP. And summer promises edits. Sounds boring, I know. Good to hear from you.

    Like

    Reply
    • I have had a lot of down time from my writing. Now its time to get back on the horse! Haha Andrew had severe separation anxiety when he was little – now it’s hard to get him to take the time to come home. Glad we made that road trip together!

      Like

      Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

