RSS Feed

Wait…Didn’t She Die Last Year?

Wait…Didn’t She Die Last Year?

I almost miss this Facebook post as I’m scrolling rapidly through my newsfeed: Happy Birthday to blah blah blah from blah blah blah! Hope you are enjoying it! Then it hits me. Wait…wait!…Go back, scroll up! Where is that piece of information? I find what I am looking for and hurriedly scan the typed words. No way I think. I really thought she had passed away months ago – and I was right – she had. On any other given day there may be posts from deceased friends or friends of friends on Facebook stating – So and So likes Pottery Barn or Whatchamacallit commented on this post December 12, 2011.

These are from and about people that have gone to greener pastures – or not. But that’s not the point. I called Amie and demanded in no uncertain terms that when I am gone from this earth to please, please, please go into my Facebook account and terminate it, somehow, someway. I told her, “Just call Jessie or Andrew. They will know the login and password. It’s what I use for everything.” I know. I know. You aren’t supposed to do that. That’s another story!

Is this petty? It depends on how you look at it. I really don’t want my face peering up at others with a smile while blowing out candles on my birthday cake if I can’t respond to all those wonderful comments myself that are being made about how great I look for 93!

Any thoughts on this people? Am I being selfish? Its just eerie to me.

Elle

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

7 responses »

  1. I’m not very active on Facebook, so I don’t have much of an opinion–but it makes sense to me that you should be able to decide whether or not you want it to continue.

    Like

    Reply
    • Since Facebook doesn’t know you as personably as it seems to at times I assume someone has to go right to the source with your log in and password in hand to delete your page. I’m going to make sure someone has all the information needed! No haunting from out yonder from me! LOL!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Facebook in general freaks me out…you can almost hear its heart beat…and yes, I’m with you. Pull the plug on all social media. Talk about a living will…just think if people wrote to you and you never answered, how much they’d hate you for being rude. No, no…don’t keep me alive cyberly if you please. Despite the gravity of the topic, it’s funny. Can’t help it.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Some people prefer to keep them going so others can post condolences. We recently had a deceased neighbor’s show up and that’s what his wife told us. He was a band member, so people drop by from time to time.

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

