RSS Feed

Social Media – Has It Reeled You In Yet?

Social Media – Has It Reeled You In Yet?

I sit and wonder sometimes what all the fuss is about. Social media that is. It’s part of our lives whether we want it to be or not. There’s  no sense in fighting the inevitable. Just a quick look at Facebook in the morning and it turns into a two hour gig. That run I was headed off to has been postponed for later in the day – preferably when the sun goes down. After my Facebook wandering, stats must be checked on WordPress and skimming over my reader in WordPress can add or rather subtract a few hours from my day. As I read posts from blogger friends a light bulb could go off  at any given moment with a new idea for a blog post. I must open up a new page and write my thoughts down quickly before I forget the cute and tasteful way the thoughts are skipping around in my head.

What the heck? Since I haven’t posted in a few days it won’t hurt to see this through, edit, rewrite, and add some pictures. An hour or so later and it’s done with another post  off and running. Back to Facebook to make sure the article posted correctly with the right featured picture – sometimes that feature picture is so annoying! Twitter posted okay this time, but I still haven’t figured out Pinterest. Sometimes it works for me – sometimes not!

What Line is sitting patiently for me to put on the finishing touches. My fabrics and trim are lying limp on the table waiting to be turned into a beautiful pillow. Just ten minutes more I tell myself often. I then open up twitter and read a few tweets, check my personal Facebook page, get sidetracked by some emails, and move over to Amazon for information on my sales.  Soon those ten minutes have added up to an hour – or two.

My carefully planned morning has now been blown to hell and back and I must get started on that actual paying job I have. As I sit and sew, it’s easy to ponder all I want to write. My fingers itch to get back to the keyboard, but mustering up self-control, I put in four to five hours before taking a break. Sometimes I feel a tad guilty when the work doesn’t get done and I have to stay up at night or rise at the crack of dawn to meet my deadline, but not guilty enough to pass up a chance at opening my laptop and tuning in to the wonderful world of the internet. I get caught up again in all aspects of social media.

I have come to the sad conclusion that realistically social media could be the reason my book has not gotten finished and Crossing The Line is still sitting lonely on the shelf waiting for that sequel to happen. H being home for the summer has not helped either! Maybe I could blame this all on him? I love our summers, even though they are cut short with never-ending remodeling, house repairs, band camp, and finding ourselves again before the new school years begins.

I need some will power to unplug the internet and get back to work. THIS is what all the fuss is about. Social media takes up a lot of time. It eats into our lives slowly and consistently, constantly baiting us until we are hooked. Yep…I’ve been reeled in. How about you?

Elle 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

13 responses »

  1. I rarely go on Twitter. More because I don’t understand it than anything else. However, I do see that it can be a useful tool for marketing. FB I check in on a couple of times each day but never for very long. My longest time is the couple of hours in the morning where I read blog posts and write my own. I do try to keep busy through the days and not check in on social media lol

    Like

    Reply
  2. oh yeah, it’s the best/worst distraction! once you get back into a routine of your writing, it’ll be all good. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. I’m with you in regards to how time consuming social media is…I rarely go to Facebook…once in a while…because, one could be writing…I do think, if you don’t mind me saying, you should write your novel…or a memoir, or an essay…you’re a wonderful writer…and I know self promotion is part of the deal these days, but I still say…make writing your priority, and glory will follow.

    Like

    Reply
  4. I just finally got off Facebook thinking this was getting to be too much time…. an hour! I just started a post for the Daily Prompt and deleted it because I’m half way through my morning and not even dressed……. I don’t want to spend my whole morning on the computer!
    I’m not even going to start Twitter!

    Like

    Reply
  5. I am doing less and less with Facebook and Twitter. Time is the primary reason. Once I get my head around this series, I’ll feel better about giving it more time.

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

