RSS Feed

You Only Need To Type One Word Per Day!

You Only Need To Type One Word Per Day!

One word a day! I could do that. That doesn’t even make sense does it? If I set a goal to write one word a day, imagine how long it would take to finish writing a book. I feel as though I am stuck in a place not far from that idea with ‘What Line’. It’s been slow going. You can read this blog post by Richard Ridley that has inspired me to think about the one word concept. I don’t think I have gone completely cuckoo!

Some authors – most authors – set a daily word count goal. It is far from a one word a day goal. That count is more like 1500 – 3000 words or more a day. That would really get the ball rolling for sure.

Think of the pressure you are under with that higher count. Take for instance, there is the emergency run to the vet after your dog ate the last ten pages of your novel. The hot water heater didn’t only spring a leak, it flooded your basement. Sick kids. Sick you. Life happens and there is not a thing we can do to stop it. When it happens there goes that unrealistic goal of your word count. It’s shot to hell in a hand basket. And since we all don’t like to fail, sometimes we don’t even try.

 

Bad Dog!

Bad Dog!

Placing your word count goal at one word per day is much more realistic. You open your laptop to your novel. Refresh your mind by rereading the last chapter you wrote. Open up a fresh blank page and start typing. Type that one word. You pretty much have to type more than one word to finish a sentence and then that sentence runs into another and then a paragraph forms. A few more paragraphs, another page or two and look at that. You not only surpassed your word count of one word – you wrote a whole new chapter!

So folks, I’m changing my word count goal to one word per day. How about you? I’ve already typed almost four hundred words just by writing this post. Counting the deletions and retypes and I have! Now I have to go get that one word typed into ‘What Line’.

Happy goal setting!

Elle

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

10 responses »

  1. Elle, great idea. I fool myself (so easy to do) the same way when I have a chore I don’t want to do. I tell myself I only have to exercise for 15 minutes or just clean out one drawer in the kitchen, etc. And you’re right, when the pressures off we tend to do more.

    Like

    Reply
  2. I’m always happy when I take a step forward each day–most days it’s a baby step, very rarely is it a leap.

    Like

    Reply
  3. I’ll see your one and raise you one! Yup, still doable 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  4. Oh man, I spent 10 years typing one word per day. There’s one huge problem. Now I have to put those words in order. 🙂 Just kidding!

    Like

    Reply
    • When you get that done, you may have a best seller on your hands! 😉 But really, once you get that first word typed you have to finish don’t you? I do. Then it may snowball from there. Let’s hope!

      Like

      Reply
  5. I binge write. I get ideas and write around the clock for hours. then I might go days without one word. Or just a sentence or two.I don’t want my writing to appear forced. So I try to take it easy on myself.

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

