RSS Feed

He Makes The Bed – I Make The Coffee

He Makes The Bed – I Make The Coffee

“Why do you do that?” Yes I was actually asked that question recently. The sore subject was concerning me making coffee and preparing breakfast every morning. I can’t remember what I replied to the question, but I do know what I was thinking – “Why wouldn’t I?”

Every morning when H gets up at 5:30am, I get up to make his coffee and breakfast. How hard is that? No problem at all. Coffee in his to-go cup, a sprinkling of raisin bran and milk or oatmeal in a bowl, and I even sometimes pack him a lunch of leftovers! (BTW – Weekend breakfasts are a bit more elaborate.) I try to  make sure his coffee, wallet, keys, cell phone, and any paperwork he may need to take with him is waiting on the table by the door.

Am I the only woman that does this? I really don’t think so. This was not the first time over many years that question was presented to me and each time it irks me a little more. I would hope he would do the same for me if I was the one walking out the door to work every morning. You get out of a relationship what you put into it and all it takes is a little give-and-take.

After he leaves for work, I walk to the back of the house. Our bed is made, pillows fluffed, and even once in a while if he knows I haven’t slept well,  he will turn down the corner of my side having it ready for me to snuggle back in if I want! I rarely do, but its the thought that counts. 🙂

So…yes I make coffee and breakfast. What do you do?

 

 

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

18 responses »

  1. My Pookie-Pie and I each wait on the other by doing extra little things. It’s fairly even and makes the other feel special. The person who asked you “Why” must practice this sort of bonding.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Love this, Elle – you have described our routine. Well, with the exception that I probably crawl back into bed more often than you do! This is exactly the stuff that long marriages are made of! My husband has cooked at some very nice restaurants, so we share those duties, but he doesn’t do laundry. Since I don’t do lawns, weedwacking, car maintenance, house repairs, and a whole host of other labor intensive things, I count myself amongst the fortunate! We had a recent proud moment when Ladies’ Home Journal included us in an article called: “The Little Meaningful Things Happily Married Couples Do.” (Aug 2014) Our excerpt included me appreciating him cutting cartoons and funny articles out of the paper to bring home to me and he appreciates me throwing his robe in the dryer to heat while he’s showering. It also happened to be their last ever subscription issue. The 2″x3″ piece of magazine page is now on my short list of prized possessions!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • I got the cartoon and article cutting job over here! I think marriages and relationships fail because there is not enough of the “little things” put into the mix. It’s a give and take situation as I said. “You get out of it what you put into it.” I would love to read that article. Is it online anywhere?

      Like

      Reply
  3. Italian way of life my parents my wife & myself.I cooked for Rose 19 years I loved it.Now at FSU she misses the cooking.I love cooking,clean plus.

    Like

    Reply
  4. I LOVE THAT YOU DO ALL THOSE THINGS FOR HIM…and you didn’t even add the band stuff. Of course you make him breakfast…and believe me if you stopped, he’d be lost. I’m old fashioned…I truly believe one takes care of who they love. What’s better than that?

    NOTHIN

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. I used to get up to make breakfast for the GG but he reminded me that he had been doing it for many years by himself and to go back to bed and enjoy sleeping until the kids woke up. These days we both share everything. He cooks, does the laundry, folds the clothes, vacuums, mops, changes sheets but he still doesn’t make the bed! lol

    Like

    Reply
  6. Other than occasional Sunday morning pancakes, I don’t make breakfast for my hubs or teenage sons. But I make all the dinners, so I figure that more than makes up for it. 🙂 My husband never cooks. But he takes care of the cars so it all balances out. It’s nice to do nice things for our spouses. The Golden Rule shouldn’t dissolve just because people get married. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  7. I don’t make breakfast and Jason doesn’t make the bed! He is up at 4:30 and if he wants breakfast he better grab a pop tart! As for making the bed, I’m still in it. If he wants to make it my side will just be lumpy!! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  8. We both have our traditional roles. The rocket scientist can’t boil water, so he’s NEVER cooked for me in the eight years we’ve been together. But he does soooooo much more.He fixes everything that I break and keeps the house and five cars maintained for family members.

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

