RSS Feed

Is this Mass Suicide?

Susan may have hit the nail on the head with this one! I’ve often wondered along the same lines myself. Indie authors work ever bit as hard as regular published authors – more so if you do your own editing, book cover, and publishing along with all the marketing and publicity we have to do just to get a bite! Why shouldn’t we be rewarded as well as other authors are?
When I first published Crossing The Line the price was around $5.00. It has been up and down since then and has settled at $2.99. I have even offered it free at times. I very rarely sell a paperback at $13.95. That’s the price I have to get to make a decent profit.
Does anyone else have thoughts on this?

S.K. Nicholls

mahatma-gandhi

When I first came out with Red Clay and Roses, I told my millionaire cousins about the book. I mentioned that it was only $3.99. My cousin’s wife remarked, “Oh, we have a site where we get all of our digital books for free.”  I suggested they support a starving author. “Why, when there is so much out there to read for free? We haven’t paid for a book in five years.”

Maybe that’s why they are millionaires.

I’m being factitious. But I was offended. My own family would not pay $4.00 to read my book. Hell, I would have given them a free copy if they had expressed any interest.

If you have a series, I can understand the first book in the series being discounted. That’s a great opportunity for you to strut your stuff and build your audience, but I’m wondering if keeping books priced low is…

View original post 439 more words

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

